German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I have made German Chocolate cake several times. Compared to the recipe off the chocolate bar box, I like the box recipe better... I live at a very high altitude, so I increased the flour to 2 1/2 C like this recipe says too. I also turned the oven down to 325 and cook about 35 - 40 mins depending on cake pan size/depth. They turned out perfect! 1 hr prep time is not accurate though after prepping/making everything. It takes me roughly 2 1/2 hrs every time i make this cake....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This is the recipe that I grew up with that was on the inside on the semi sweet squares box. I make it religiously for my 26 year old daughter without the pecans as it is her favorite cake and seems that I am always the designated dessert maker for family functions and this is number one on the list. I put my I frosting in the freezer to cool to cut down and it also makes it much thicker. Just wanted to throw that in because according to several reviews some there were having a problem with thickness. You can also add extra coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I loved it! Tried it for the first time. Very easy to follow and yummy. I would reduce the sugar for the topping the next time I bake. Tq for a lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
I made this for my husband's birthday dinner and it was amazing! As good as the baker's from our wedding (we had this type of cake for the grooms cake) I doubled the icing and toasted the pecans and coconut. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina Livingston
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I followed the cake recipe to a T. Even after greasing the pans my cakes stuck horribly. One layer completely fell apart so I took another reviewers advice and froze the other two layers for about an hour. Then I dunked the bottoms of the pans in hot water for about 20 seconds and they released from the pans just fine. I accidentally lost my grip on one of the pans and my cake layer ended up with a water bath, but that was my fault. I'd still say this is probably my worst caking experience to date - the cakes were very crumbly, more so than your average chocolate cake. Very tasty and moist, but the moisture was almost to it's detriment. Also took the advice of other reviewers and toasted the coconut and pecans and doubled the recipe, which was a blessing because I had enough to cover the boo-boos. The frosting tasted amazing! All in all, I think the recipe is a keeper. Time consuming, but in the end worth it. I would suggest perhaps omitting the water when melting the chocolate. This cake is moist enough without the extra water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This was a easy and delicious recipe. I toasted the Pecans and Coconut and made 1 1/2 recipes of the icing. I took it to work and it was gone by 11:00am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
P.S. I also used aluminum foil greased in the shape of a circle at the bottom of the pan b/c I didn't have wax paper and I wanted the cake to just pop out on the bottom. Very happy I did so because they plopped out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I have my mom's recipe for german chocolate cake, which is fabulous, but was seeing what else was out there. Based on the reviews for this cake I decided to compare it's ingredients to my mom's recipe to see how/why it was different. I was pleasantly surprised to find it is EXACTLY the same recipe! Except my mom's recipe for the frosting adds a bit more of each ingredient to allow for more frosting. I think this is funny because in the reviews people said to make 1 1/2 recipes for the frosting because one isn't enough. I guess my mom did know something afterall ! Thanks mom :) -Jennifer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Very tasty. This was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I have tasted the Cake and it was tasty. But I find it still funny that its called German Chocolate Cake, because normally in Germany Chocolate Cakes are like normal Chocolate Cakes. Dark Cake with Chocolate Cream or Chocolate Glaze. We don't make them like this recipe. But non the less its a great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snowbrin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bochum, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States