German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by NerdyPleasures
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I am thrilled with the results of following most of this formula. This cake is an American classic, and so it comes with certain expectations. I always expect a German's Chocolate Cake to be softer and sweeter, buttery and coconutty. This formula delivers! Some adjustments I made: The cake I made exactly as instructed. I needed a six inch cake, so I had enough batter for three six inch layers, and one eight inch layer for my family to keep. I did not follow the frosting recipe at all. Instead, I used the one inside the box of chocolate squares. I toasted the nuts and half the coconut. I only added the toasted coconut to the frosting, reserving the raw coconut for garnish. As for the chocolate sauce, I never use shortening in frosting or sauces. Butter has a lower melting point which results in better mouthfeel. I melted the butter on low heat to keep it from scorching, chopped the chocolate into small bits, and after removing the melted butter from the heat, immediately added the chopped chocolate and stirred it after the chocolate was mostly melted. I used 1 oz. of chocolate and a tablespoon of butter. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This can be a 5-star cake, but for novice bakers it is a 3-star as written. Cake batter is great as written, but the frosting and overall timing is way off. First, for a good amount of frosting you should 1.5x the frosting as others have suggested. Plus, toasting the coconut and pecans takes the flavor to a 5-star level. Also, bringing the frosting to a boil is critical. Let it cool to thicken to proper consistency. This took at least an hour, plus I put it in the fridge to speed it up. The timing for this recipe is at least 2 hours for novices. BUT, THE CAKE IS A 5-star once the kinks are worked out for beginners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by andreanoud
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This cake was delicious! Here are my tips: you will need to double the frosting and it takes closer to an hour to thicken, I just played a movie on my phone while I was stirring :-) I also toasted the coconut and pecans, being careful not to burn them. I would recommend letting the bottom of the pan soak in hot water for a couple of minutes so that the cake comes out of the pan perfectly. Finally, they only took 20 minutes in my oven, so make sure you check them before 30 minutes! Enjoy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Wow! I made the cake just as instructed but increased the frosting by 1/2 like other reviewers said to do. The cake alone was wonderful, it had the perfect moist, springy texture and the taste was so good. I did spray the cake pans with baking Pam and lined them with parchment paper and baked for 27 minutes. Perfect! The frosting was rich and buttery. I did toast the pecans and coconut before adding to the frosting. I used 1 1/2 cups sugar, a whole 12 oz. can of evaporated milk (1 1/2 cups), 3/4 cups butter, 4 beaten egg yolks, 1 1/2 cups flaked coconut and pecans. I started the frosting on low and gradually increased it to medium to boil, as to not scramble the eggs and put it back to low and stirred for about 20 minutes. Wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by cheech
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
The frosting was so thin, it poured like water. The flavor of the cake was good, but not for the amount of effort that went into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This cake is delicious! My family cannot wait till the next time I bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dedra
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This cake was delicious. My sister thinks I should sell it. No can do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
A basic, simple recipe with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Did not like the texture using cake flour. Will try again using AP flour. Good flavor, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I found this same cake recipe (frosting is different) in our local newspaper's Sunday Living section about 30 years ago. Not sure where they got it, but it is a phenomenal cake...if done correctly...and yes, it is a labor intensive cake, but so worth it. For those having difficulty, the common problems seem to be: Cake flattening: Gently fold *all* of the egg whites into the batter. Otherwise, the cake has a tendency to flatten some as the egg whites are what gives the cake its lift. The batter will have some streaks (not many) of white in it. I'm not sure what the point is of first gently folding part in and then beating the daylights out of it when you add the rest. Icing not sticking to sides: You do not ice the side of a traditional GC cake, although some bakeries put a chocolate frosting on the sides (yuck). Icing not thickening: It wasn't cooked or possibly cooled enough. It should be cooked until it has a golden color and you need to put it in a mixer (I use my kitchen aid with the flat blade) and slowly beat it until it cools completely. Depth of chocolate flavor: Pre-make cake mixes and bakeries have conditioned people to deep chocolate cake as german chocolate. Sorry, but the original german chocolate cake was developed by a man who used a sweet german chocolate (which the baker's company named after him)...not semi-sweet, milk or any other type. So if you want 'german' chocolate, this (or the recipe on the baker's box) is the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States