German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Wonderful caked a spring form pan is the best way to go. DO NOT ALTER THIS RECIPE! It was so moist and fluffy, the perfect chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Cressy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Beautiful and delicious. Is it sacrilege to say I think it's better than my mother's? ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This is my first time submitting a rating, and I have to say- there was no other option but to rate this a full 5 stars! I loved the recipe since this was my mother's favorite cake, I made it the day after Christmas since I wasn't so confident in myself of making such an involved cake, but it came out beautiful and moist!! My frosting did not ever really set even after cooking the butter mixture but I made some adjustments to add more coconut and pecans and it came out loose but still very delicious!! I'll keep playing around with this until I can get to my liking, of course I also could not find german chocolate in my grocery stores so I used semisweet chocolate instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna 1028

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samisos
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Raving about this recipe. It's actually quite simple to make and is not all that labor intensive, honestly. As mentioned by other reviewers, you'll want to make 1.5 times the frosting, add extra chocolate to the batter, toast the coconuts and pecans, and I made extra chocolate drizzle because I felt its taste really complemented the cake. My cake popped right out without problems, although it was a bit fragile and was done in about 20 minutes. Lastly, make sure to completely cool your frosting and your cake. The icing solidifies to a spreadable consistency once completely cooled. This cake is moist and decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kels3
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for my husband's birthday & for my first cake from scratch, it turned out great. I'd probably use 2oz. of the German chocolate next time but overall, the work is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsGia
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this after Thanksgiving dinner and I can't believe I pulled this off!! It's very tedious but WELL worth it. Not too sweet and overwhelming - the perfect dessert. Thanks for making my day EXTRA special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I love this recipe I've made this cake several times for co-workers they enjoy it everytime. Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious moist cake!!! My boyfriend's favorite. My guests said this is the best German chocolate cake they ever tasted. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Of course it's good. Straight out of my Betty Crocker cookbook from the 1970s. Not actually "Dean's" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I toast my coconut and pecans and chop them into small pieces. I also use a gluten free flour mixture. Turns out great & you cannot tell it is GF. I also use this recipe and make as directed then mush it all together to make cake pops that are moist, delicious and out of this world!! This IS my go to recipe! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States