German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by obscurevirtue
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Perfection! Thank you, Dean for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a huge success. I will make it againin the morning because my son requested it for his 14th birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The recipe for German Chocolate Cake is on the bar of the Bakers German Chocolate Bar. Everything is the same except this recipe calls for 1/2 cup more flour(cake) and 1/4 teaspoon more salt. This recipe was ok, not as moist, flavorful or buttery as the recipe calling for 2 cups of flour. I did use cake flour, recommended. I was quite disappointed and everyone said that my old recipe was so much better. i definitely agree. The chocolate color was not as intense (lighter brown) and cake tasted dry. I also toasted the pecans but I like the non toasted taste better for this cake. Will not try this recipe again but rather will stick by my old recipe. It is so much better. The frosting can be made the day before (used the recipe on the German chocolate bar). It is delicious, ample enough to frost the entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I love this recipe! I usually make this every Christmas. The only thing that I do different is I add more coconut and pecans to the frosting. I also make a chocolate frosting using powdered sugar, coco powder butter and pet milk to go around the sides. My family loves the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The cake itself has an awesome texture and turned out perfectly. However, as others suggested it needs more chocolate and should only bake for 20 minutes. The frosting on the other hand was not very good. After following the recipe it mostly tasted like evaporated milk. I added more coconut and melted some chocolate into the frosting which helped a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazycakelady
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Very excellent cake. Not your traditional heavy chocolate cake- it's a tender, light cake that carries the rich, nutty icing perfectly! I toasted the coconut and pecans, and made 1.5 times the frosting, adding about 1 tbsp of dissolved cornstarch at the end of cooking it. But I had plenty of frosting left over, too. I think those who said it made too little were trying to ice the sides of the cake, which it doesn't need. The look of the layers of cake, frosting, and chocolate drizzle is beautiful- leave the sides exposed! It also creates the perfect balance of cake and frosting in every bite. Worth every minute of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycakelady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I didn't make the frosting (pecans are SO expensive, who knew?) but did make the cake. It was good, but for all the work.. I don't know. I wasn't super thrilled. Not too different from baking a simple cake-mix, but I'm sure the frosting really makes the cake, so maybe I'm not one to rate this. If I make it again I will def have to make the frosting recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I am a professional baker and always follow a recipe as written the first time I bake it, and when I review it. I set timer for 20 minutes, and cake was burnt. My fault for not checking, but I have never cooked a cake that fast! So, I tried again, cake came out ok. I did 2 batches of the icing, the first I must have cooked for 45 minutes and it never got thick. I took it off the heat and it thickened enough to use. The second I upped the heat to medium low, and cooked longer, still never got thick. I made this for a friend, I am not a german chocolate fan. The cake was very light and had good texture, but was a bit dry even though not over cooked. The frosting was thin but had good flavor and soaked into the cake a bit to help with moisture. It definitely needs tweaking, so if you are going to make, use some of the advice given! It is close, but impo not there yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The chocolate cake is heavenly. The frosting was good, but I recommend toasting the pecans before adding them to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This went over so well at a friends birthday party. I made the recipe as is and added choc frosting to the sides of the cake and did a little decorative flower with choc icing around the top edges. I think the choc icing with the pecan icing goes well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Wow! What a great recipe! So moist and tender..just made this cake tonight, didn't change a thing. This is my new favorite German chocolate cake. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sassy Chef Mo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States