German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I always thought German Chocolate Cake would be overwhelming...this was so easy to follow and turned out GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made for my boss and she wanted to know where I purchased it! Used the 6 oz of German Choc as someone else recommended. Buttered and dusted the pans with cocoa. Baking time of 25 minutes. Toased the coconut and pecans for the icing. Doubled the icing recipe althhough 1.5 times would have been fine if not doing the sides. Looked fab. and she said it was amazing!! JKF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I think it would've been better with just 2 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is a great cake! My family loved it! I listened to others and doubled the icing and toasted the pecans and coconut. You definitely need to double the icing if you do a three layer cake and want to put icing on the entire cake! It is well worth the time you put into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by calleighlove
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Such a moist velvety cake. Cuts beautifully and practically crumb free. The frosting is so yummy and put all together, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by obscurevirtue
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Perfection! Thank you, Dean for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. I made it for Thanksgiving and it was a huge success. I will make it againin the morning because my son requested it for his 14th birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
The recipe for German Chocolate Cake is on the bar of the Bakers German Chocolate Bar. Everything is the same except this recipe calls for 1/2 cup more flour(cake) and 1/4 teaspoon more salt. This recipe was ok, not as moist, flavorful or buttery as the recipe calling for 2 cups of flour. I did use cake flour, recommended. I was quite disappointed and everyone said that my old recipe was so much better. i definitely agree. The chocolate color was not as intense (lighter brown) and cake tasted dry. I also toasted the pecans but I like the non toasted taste better for this cake. Will not try this recipe again but rather will stick by my old recipe. It is so much better. The frosting can be made the day before (used the recipe on the German chocolate bar). It is delicious, ample enough to frost the entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I love this recipe! I usually make this every Christmas. The only thing that I do different is I add more coconut and pecans to the frosting. I also make a chocolate frosting using powdered sugar, coco powder butter and pet milk to go around the sides. My family loves the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The cake itself has an awesome texture and turned out perfectly. However, as others suggested it needs more chocolate and should only bake for 20 minutes. The frosting on the other hand was not very good. After following the recipe it mostly tasted like evaporated milk. I added more coconut and melted some chocolate into the frosting which helped a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazycakelady
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Very excellent cake. Not your traditional heavy chocolate cake- it's a tender, light cake that carries the rich, nutty icing perfectly! I toasted the coconut and pecans, and made 1.5 times the frosting, adding about 1 tbsp of dissolved cornstarch at the end of cooking it. But I had plenty of frosting left over, too. I think those who said it made too little were trying to ice the sides of the cake, which it doesn't need. The look of the layers of cake, frosting, and chocolate drizzle is beautiful- leave the sides exposed! It also creates the perfect balance of cake and frosting in every bite. Worth every minute of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycakelady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States