German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe if you are looking for a "scratch" cake batter. Not difficult, but you will get a lot of bowls dirty. Your friends will be impressed. The flavor is great and the texture is moist. That said, if you don't want to go to all this trouble, use a cake mix. I wanted an frosting using sweetened condensed milk and I found one on this site called Coconut Pecan Frosting - really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McKeown Schafer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Oh, Wow! I made this cake for my father's birthday and it couldn't have come out better. The light chocolate of the cake went fantastic with the rich topping, it looked gorgeous, and the chocolate drizzled over the top put it over the moon! Excellent recipe that might easily become a yearly tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nylcaj Sessa
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I have never had German Chocolate cake before. My boyfriend told me it was his favorite cake, and I wanted to surprise him by making it for him. I found this recipe, now I love the cake, best cake I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made this recipe without changing anything except increasing the heat when making the frosting to try to thicken it up more. It seemed slightly thicker and wasn't sure if I should continue stirring longer but turned it off and added the coconut and pecans. Frosting turned out awesome and thickens when it cools off. The cake in the bottom of two pans crumbled but I was able to make a slightly shorter three layer cake and it tasted wonderful! Even brought it to my German Club and it disappeared fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
everybody liked it... opps.. forgot to whip the egg whites.. but still came out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebelFag68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I always thought German Chocolate Cake would be overwhelming...this was so easy to follow and turned out GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made for my boss and she wanted to know where I purchased it! Used the 6 oz of German Choc as someone else recommended. Buttered and dusted the pans with cocoa. Baking time of 25 minutes. Toased the coconut and pecans for the icing. Doubled the icing recipe althhough 1.5 times would have been fine if not doing the sides. Looked fab. and she said it was amazing!! JKF
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I think it would've been better with just 2 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is a great cake! My family loved it! I listened to others and doubled the icing and toasted the pecans and coconut. You definitely need to double the icing if you do a three layer cake and want to put icing on the entire cake! It is well worth the time you put into it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 584) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States