German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I love this recipe! I usually make this every Christmas. The only thing that I do different is I add more coconut and pecans to the frosting. I also make a chocolate frosting using powdered sugar, coco powder butter and pet milk to go around the sides. My family loves the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
The cake itself has an awesome texture and turned out perfectly. However, as others suggested it needs more chocolate and should only bake for 20 minutes. The frosting on the other hand was not very good. After following the recipe it mostly tasted like evaporated milk. I added more coconut and melted some chocolate into the frosting which helped a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazycakelady
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Very excellent cake. Not your traditional heavy chocolate cake- it's a tender, light cake that carries the rich, nutty icing perfectly! I toasted the coconut and pecans, and made 1.5 times the frosting, adding about 1 tbsp of dissolved cornstarch at the end of cooking it. But I had plenty of frosting left over, too. I think those who said it made too little were trying to ice the sides of the cake, which it doesn't need. The look of the layers of cake, frosting, and chocolate drizzle is beautiful- leave the sides exposed! It also creates the perfect balance of cake and frosting in every bite. Worth every minute of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazycakelady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I didn't make the frosting (pecans are SO expensive, who knew?) but did make the cake. It was good, but for all the work.. I don't know. I wasn't super thrilled. Not too different from baking a simple cake-mix, but I'm sure the frosting really makes the cake, so maybe I'm not one to rate this. If I make it again I will def have to make the frosting recipe as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I am a professional baker and always follow a recipe as written the first time I bake it, and when I review it. I set timer for 20 minutes, and cake was burnt. My fault for not checking, but I have never cooked a cake that fast! So, I tried again, cake came out ok. I did 2 batches of the icing, the first I must have cooked for 45 minutes and it never got thick. I took it off the heat and it thickened enough to use. The second I upped the heat to medium low, and cooked longer, still never got thick. I made this for a friend, I am not a german chocolate fan. The cake was very light and had good texture, but was a bit dry even though not over cooked. The frosting was thin but had good flavor and soaked into the cake a bit to help with moisture. It definitely needs tweaking, so if you are going to make, use some of the advice given! It is close, but impo not there yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The chocolate cake is heavenly. The frosting was good, but I recommend toasting the pecans before adding them to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This went over so well at a friends birthday party. I made the recipe as is and added choc frosting to the sides of the cake and did a little decorative flower with choc icing around the top edges. I think the choc icing with the pecan icing goes well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Wow! What a great recipe! So moist and tender..just made this cake tonight, didn't change a thing. This is my new favorite German chocolate cake. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sassy Chef Mo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I'm only rating the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I made this cake for a client's husband. He almost hurt himself eating this cake! The wife said this is the best German Cake they have ever had and from now on, I am their go to lady for cakes. I am sorry I did not get a change to taste the cake, but what's important is what the client thinks. I make many different kind of cake, but this cake has a long process, but worth the time. Thanks to the person who submitted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States