German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Good grief. NOM. This cake is insanely good....moist cake....flavorful filling.....soooooo tasty! If you have problems with this recipe,you may want to check your methods. Happy camper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SkerlieBee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
German Choc cake is not easy, but this is the best recipe so far... I like my icing sweeter though so I only gave it 4 stars, not sure how to get it sweeter without messing up the consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Love this cake. Made it several times. Made it for Easter dinner. I bought sweetened condensed milk so used that without adding sugar for the frosting. Made a quicker and better colored frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
DELICIOUS! It turned out so light and moist. I baked it for my mom's birthday and it was a big hit. This recipe has just been absorbed into my collection. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Loved this cake, it beat the box version I have been eating for years hands down so it was well worth the extra effort. I like to make the cake the day before and decorate it the day I want it, it lets the cake rest and makes decorating so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Made this cake for my daughters birthday. The whole family taste tested. Even those who were not German chocolate cake fans have changed their ways. I am the appointed birthday cake baker for our whole family. Everyone has requested this cake for their birthday now! I made no changes to the recipe. Best ever recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Make is exactly as is and was blown away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Made this for my boyfriend's birthday yesterday and it was a huge hit! This was my first time making a cake from scratch and it turned out amazing. I had read a few reviews before making it and opted to make the frosting first which worked out great. Once the cakes were cool, I was ready to frost and finish. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Golden Morning

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Replace the 1/2 cup of water with strong coffee or expresso....you can't taste it..it simply makes the chocolate much richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Time consuming, but worth every moment!!! Used cake flour substitute (flour + cornstarch) and subbed German chocolate (unsweetened chocolate + 4 t sugar per oz) to save money & use items I already had on hand. Delicious, and the family RAVED about it! Note, it does make a BIG cake! Absolutely the best German chocolate cake I have ever had. No need to look for another recipe - this is IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States