German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This was a huge hit! So moist, delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I've made this cake on 2 separate occasions and it was a hit both times that people are still calling me to them another one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I made this recipe exactly to directions. I was a good flavor, not too sweet or unsweet. I just didn't find it to be anything special. I also felt something was off about it, I felt like it had too much of a floury taste. Here are some FYI's in relation to other peoples concerns or tips I didn't find it dry I checked every 5 mins after the 15 min park and i ended up baking a total of 25 mins I used pam flour baking spray so I had no issues with it sticking I filled two 9 inch pans the regular amount and a pan with 6 cupcakes, but it still over flowed. There is definitely enough for 3 pans. I had no problem with the chocolate melting with the water and I did use bakers chocolate brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
My new favorite German Chocolate Cake recipe! Make sure to double the chocolate frosting or you will not have enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Kirk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karenmac
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
made this yesterday for my mans b-day. Never made GCC before and this was amazing!! Should get 10 stars... super easy. The only thing to remember when making the frosting.. cook at least 10-12 minutes so the eggs cook. Mine was soupy and I added 1 tsp then another of corn starch- that did the trick! never tasted it... he said it was the best cake he ever had and even had a slice for breakfast..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaraRonfeld
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I couldn't find cake flour but everyone said it came out great! The filling took a long time to thicken but that too came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon Roberts
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I made this yesterday for the husband's birthday. Great recipe! So good! You definitely will need to make extra filling as suggested. I added 1/2 to filling ingredients, and it was perfect. Also I omitted the chocolate drizzle at the end. It worked beautifully without. I love this recipe and will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashlee Maas
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the chocolate drizzle. I tripled that. The filling was a bit runny even cooled, but it wasn't bad at all. Will definitely be making it again. I may try adding pudding or cornstarch to thicken the filling but overall the family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlee Maas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This cake is absolutely delicious! I made it for my husband's birthday and he loved it. It does take quite a bit of time to make the cake and the filling, but was well worth the effort. I did add a tablespoon of instant vanilla pudding to the filling and the thickness turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I made the recipe BUT left out adding the whipped egg whites. I wanted a more dense cake made in a sheet pan as I needed 250 pieces for a school function. It did fall just a little but after adding the pecan coconut topping and drizzling chocolate on top it turned out just as planned. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States