German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious moist cake!!! My boyfriend's favorite. My guests said this is the best German chocolate cake they ever tasted. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Of course it's good. Straight out of my Betty Crocker cookbook from the 1970s. Not actually "Dean's" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I toast my coconut and pecans and chop them into small pieces. I also use a gluten free flour mixture. Turns out great & you cannot tell it is GF. I also use this recipe and make as directed then mush it all together to make cake pops that are moist, delicious and out of this world!! This IS my go to recipe! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I've used recipes from AllRecipes before and loved them all, this one was a challenge for me. I've baked all my life and the only recipes that never turned out right were the ones I used Splenda in... until now. I followed this recipe to a T an everything tastes great; but my cake stuck to the pan and puffed up then deflated, the cake has weird air bubble holes, and the frosting didn't thicken. I found a quick tip to fix teh frosting and the cake is fine as is, so over all I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made a couple of changes to this recipe: put in 6 oz of chocolate, toasted the coconut/nuts, and used gluten free flour. It is delicious!! Great recipe, I only toasted the nuts and coconut out of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Wow! This was the first time I've made a German chocolate cake from scratch and it was awesome ! It takes quite a while to make but it's so worth it ! I made the full recipe and filled a 11x15 inch rectangle cake pan perfectly with it. I did two recipes to make two sheet cakes and then made the icing recipe times 1 1/2 as a filling. As some others suggested, I made sure to toast the coconut in a 350F oven for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally and then toasted the pecans for about 5 minutes. Then I made a German chocolate ganache and covered the cake with marshmallow fondant to decorate as requested by a friend. Everybody LOVED it! It was wonderfully moist and delicious! Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fisk, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Excellent frosting. Added a little bit more pecans and coconut than called for. Used regular chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4-H Mojo
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I followed the top reviews and doubled the icing and the chocolate drizzle. Posted pic on FB has several people requesting this for their birthday :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The reason this cake falls apart is because is you sift the cake flour again it makes the flour too fine and hard to work with. I have german chocolate cake crumbs. Another thing is I wouldn't flour it I would use butter instead of cooking spray. Thankfully I made it early so that I will have a cake for the birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Nicole Montoya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Espanola, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Bayfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This recipe is a favorite in my house. I make it often. The only recommendations I have are toasting the pecans and coconut before adding it because it will add an even more amazing taste. Also make sure you double the frosting portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States