German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Excellent frosting. Added a little bit more pecans and coconut than called for. Used regular chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4-H Mojo
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I followed the top reviews and doubled the icing and the chocolate drizzle. Posted pic on FB has several people requesting this for their birthday :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The reason this cake falls apart is because is you sift the cake flour again it makes the flour too fine and hard to work with. I have german chocolate cake crumbs. Another thing is I wouldn't flour it I would use butter instead of cooking spray. Thankfully I made it early so that I will have a cake for the birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Nicole Montoya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Espanola, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Bayfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This recipe is a favorite in my house. I make it often. The only recommendations I have are toasting the pecans and coconut before adding it because it will add an even more amazing taste. Also make sure you double the frosting portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Loved this cake! Very easy to make. Light and fluffy cake and the frosting was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by King Stephon Hayden
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great recipe... I only changed one thing... I addef 1 oz of semisweet chocolate to the 4 oz of german chocolate to get a chocolaty kick to compliment the sweetness of the german's chocolate... Worked out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by King Stephon Hayden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I was looking for a recipe for home made German Chocolate Cake. After reading all the reviews I decided on this one for my husband's birthday last wk. My husband said this was the best German Chocolate Cake he has ever had, I'm making it again for Father's Day. The only thing I did different was double the frosting so I could have enough in between layers and to put over whole cake. Also when making the frosting make sure to bring your ingredients to a quick boil before going to the next step. Over All Very Wonderful Cake, I wish I could give more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I made according to recipe. Turned out perfect. I've never written a review before but had to correct the many reviewers who added something to the filling to thicken it...DON'T DO IT. The problem they were having is they weren't cooking it long enough. It takes a long time (I didn't time it but it probably took close to a half hour at a slow boil). It will thicken and change color. I knew this because I have made caramel before. Same idea. I frosted the sides just so it would look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Perfect! I used a different filling recipe, however, the cake is perfect!! I make and decorate cakes. I have done the Bakers recipe and found it dry...although no one else noticed or said anything, I notice, I can't even stand box cake. I will never try another recipe, this one is it! Not dry at all, very fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Ramsay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Very good, but a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 585) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States