German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by andreanoud
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This cake was delicious! Here are my tips: you will need to double the frosting and it takes closer to an hour to thicken, I just played a movie on my phone while I was stirring :-) I also toasted the coconut and pecans, being careful not to burn them. I would recommend letting the bottom of the pan soak in hot water for a couple of minutes so that the cake comes out of the pan perfectly. Finally, they only took 20 minutes in my oven, so make sure you check them before 30 minutes! Enjoy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Um, let me just say that I am really thankful for other reviewers! Had someone simply given me this recipe without additional tips, it would have been a total flop. Pretty sure I over-mixed the cake and baked it a little too long (it's falling apart); also I stirred the icing constantly for at least 10 minutes, then removed it from the heat figuring that was as good as it was going to get. Came back after allowing it to cool, only to realize it was still super runny! I wish I had read reviews sooner. I ended up making a half-batch more of the icing (just the butter, toasted coconut, vanilla, milk, sugar and I added watered down cornstarch to help it thicken.) I also wish the original recipe would give a more specific timeline on how long the icing is supposed to cook. I haven't even tasted the cake yet, but I wanted to let others know to please read the reviews on this one! I will update my review once we try it for my father in law's birthday tonight. {Update : People at the party said they enjoyed it, but I'm pretty sure they were just being nice! It came out kinda dry, not really too much flavor going on. Likely won't make it again.}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Wow! I made the cake just as instructed but increased the frosting by 1/2 like other reviewers said to do. The cake alone was wonderful, it had the perfect moist, springy texture and the taste was so good. I did spray the cake pans with baking Pam and lined them with parchment paper and baked for 27 minutes. Perfect! The frosting was rich and buttery. I did toast the pecans and coconut before adding to the frosting. I used 1 1/2 cups sugar, a whole 12 oz. can of evaporated milk (1 1/2 cups), 3/4 cups butter, 4 beaten egg yolks, 1 1/2 cups flaked coconut and pecans. I started the frosting on low and gradually increased it to medium to boil, as to not scramble the eggs and put it back to low and stirred for about 20 minutes. Wonderful cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Photo by cheech
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
The frosting was so thin, it poured like water. The flavor of the cake was good, but not for the amount of effort that went into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheech

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This cake is delicious! My family cannot wait till the next time I bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dedra
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This cake was delicious. My sister thinks I should sell it. No can do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
A basic, simple recipe with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Did not like the texture using cake flour. Will try again using AP flour. Good flavor, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I found this same cake recipe (frosting is different) in our local newspaper's Sunday Living section about 30 years ago. Not sure where they got it, but it is a phenomenal cake...if done correctly...and yes, it is a labor intensive cake, but so worth it. For those having difficulty, the common problems seem to be: Cake flattening: Gently fold *all* of the egg whites into the batter. Otherwise, the cake has a tendency to flatten some as the egg whites are what gives the cake its lift. The batter will have some streaks (not many) of white in it. I'm not sure what the point is of first gently folding part in and then beating the daylights out of it when you add the rest. Icing not sticking to sides: You do not ice the side of a traditional GC cake, although some bakeries put a chocolate frosting on the sides (yuck). Icing not thickening: It wasn't cooked or possibly cooled enough. It should be cooked until it has a golden color and you need to put it in a mixer (I use my kitchen aid with the flat blade) and slowly beat it until it cools completely. Depth of chocolate flavor: Pre-make cake mixes and bakeries have conditioned people to deep chocolate cake as german chocolate. Sorry, but the original german chocolate cake was developed by a man who used a sweet german chocolate (which the baker's company named after him)...not semi-sweet, milk or any other type. So if you want 'german' chocolate, this (or the recipe on the baker's box) is the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
First attempt at a cake from scratch. The recipe was simple, and the results were from raving family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States