German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This was a huge hit! So moist, delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
I've made this cake on 2 separate occasions and it was a hit both times that people are still calling me to them another one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I made this recipe exactly to directions. I was a good flavor, not too sweet or unsweet. I just didn't find it to be anything special. I also felt something was off about it, I felt like it had too much of a floury taste. Here are some FYI's in relation to other peoples concerns or tips I didn't find it dry I checked every 5 mins after the 15 min park and i ended up baking a total of 25 mins I used pam flour baking spray so I had no issues with it sticking I filled two 9 inch pans the regular amount and a pan with 6 cupcakes, but it still over flowed. There is definitely enough for 3 pans. I had no problem with the chocolate melting with the water and I did use bakers chocolate brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
My new favorite German Chocolate Cake recipe! Make sure to double the chocolate frosting or you will not have enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Kirk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Culver City, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karenmac
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
made this yesterday for my mans b-day. Never made GCC before and this was amazing!! Should get 10 stars... super easy. The only thing to remember when making the frosting.. cook at least 10-12 minutes so the eggs cook. Mine was soupy and I added 1 tsp then another of corn starch- that did the trick! never tasted it... he said it was the best cake he ever had and even had a slice for breakfast..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaraRonfeld
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I couldn't find cake flour but everyone said it came out great! The filling took a long time to thicken but that too came out yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon Roberts
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I made this yesterday for the husband's birthday. Great recipe! So good! You definitely will need to make extra filling as suggested. I added 1/2 to filling ingredients, and it was perfect. Also I omitted the chocolate drizzle at the end. It worked beautifully without. I love this recipe and will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashlee Maas
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of the chocolate drizzle. I tripled that. The filling was a bit runny even cooled, but it wasn't bad at all. Will definitely be making it again. I may try adding pudding or cornstarch to thicken the filling but overall the family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashlee Maas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This cake is absolutely delicious! I made it for my husband's birthday and he loved it. It does take quite a bit of time to make the cake and the filling, but was well worth the effort. I did add a tablespoon of instant vanilla pudding to the filling and the thickness turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I made the recipe BUT left out adding the whipped egg whites. I wanted a more dense cake made in a sheet pan as I needed 250 pieces for a school function. It did fall just a little but after adding the pecan coconut topping and drizzling chocolate on top it turned out just as planned. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States