German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kels3
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for my husband's birthday & for my first cake from scratch, it turned out great. I'd probably use 2oz. of the German chocolate next time but overall, the work is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MsGia
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I made this after Thanksgiving dinner and I can't believe I pulled this off!! It's very tedious but WELL worth it. Not too sweet and overwhelming - the perfect dessert. Thanks for making my day EXTRA special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I love this recipe I've made this cake several times for co-workers they enjoy it everytime. Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious moist cake!!! My boyfriend's favorite. My guests said this is the best German chocolate cake they ever tasted. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Of course it's good. Straight out of my Betty Crocker cookbook from the 1970s. Not actually "Dean's" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I toast my coconut and pecans and chop them into small pieces. I also use a gluten free flour mixture. Turns out great & you cannot tell it is GF. I also use this recipe and make as directed then mush it all together to make cake pops that are moist, delicious and out of this world!! This IS my go to recipe! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I've used recipes from AllRecipes before and loved them all, this one was a challenge for me. I've baked all my life and the only recipes that never turned out right were the ones I used Splenda in... until now. I followed this recipe to a T an everything tastes great; but my cake stuck to the pan and puffed up then deflated, the cake has weird air bubble holes, and the frosting didn't thicken. I found a quick tip to fix teh frosting and the cake is fine as is, so over all I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made a couple of changes to this recipe: put in 6 oz of chocolate, toasted the coconut/nuts, and used gluten free flour. It is delicious!! Great recipe, I only toasted the nuts and coconut out of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Wow! This was the first time I've made a German chocolate cake from scratch and it was awesome ! It takes quite a while to make but it's so worth it ! I made the full recipe and filled a 11x15 inch rectangle cake pan perfectly with it. I did two recipes to make two sheet cakes and then made the icing recipe times 1 1/2 as a filling. As some others suggested, I made sure to toast the coconut in a 350F oven for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally and then toasted the pecans for about 5 minutes. Then I made a German chocolate ganache and covered the cake with marshmallow fondant to decorate as requested by a friend. Everybody LOVED it! It was wonderfully moist and delicious! Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fisk, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Excellent frosting. Added a little bit more pecans and coconut than called for. Used regular chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States