German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I haven't tasted the finished product yet, but I know it's worth the stars. As I stirred the frosting, I took the chance to read a majority of the reviews. These are my thoughts: 1) grease and flour the cake pans, then line with parchment and grease the parchment. I used my older 8-in pans that always stick, and using this method, the cakes turned out perfectly! When in doubt, ALWAYS use parchment and thoroughly grease the parchment. 2) be sure to thoroughly cream the butter and sugar before adding the egg yolks. When adding the flour/buttermilk, start and end with flour. Don't overmix it - ensure all white streaks are gone. Gently fold in those pesky egg whites; the cake will be light and fluffy if you are gentle and take the time to fold them in until no white streaks remain. 3) know your oven! I set my timer for 15 minutes so I could rotate my pans (watch America's Test Kitchen people!). I know my oven is off, and I watch it as the time gets close. 4) set your timer for 10 minutes, then turn out the cakes. If you let them sit in the pans too long, they can stick and crumble and all the other things reviewers have mentioned. 5) most German Chocolate Cakes are NOT frosted on the sides - they are filled and topped only. The frosting is VERY sweet, don't over power the cake with frosting. 6) the frosting is like a caramel - it takes time and patience. Toast the pecans and coconut, it will make all the difference. Can't wait to taste my cake now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Wow! This was the first time I've made a German chocolate cake from scratch and it was awesome ! It takes quite a while to make but it's so worth it ! I made the full recipe and filled a 11x15 inch rectangle cake pan perfectly with it. I did two recipes to make two sheet cakes and then made the icing recipe times 1 1/2 as a filling. As some others suggested, I made sure to toast the coconut in a 350F oven for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally and then toasted the pecans for about 5 minutes. Then I made a German chocolate ganache and covered the cake with marshmallow fondant to decorate as requested by a friend. Everybody LOVED it! It was wonderfully moist and delicious! Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fisk, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Excellent frosting. Added a little bit more pecans and coconut than called for. Used regular chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4-H Mojo
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I followed the top reviews and doubled the icing and the chocolate drizzle. Posted pic on FB has several people requesting this for their birthday :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The reason this cake falls apart is because is you sift the cake flour again it makes the flour too fine and hard to work with. I have german chocolate cake crumbs. Another thing is I wouldn't flour it I would use butter instead of cooking spray. Thankfully I made it early so that I will have a cake for the birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Nicole Montoya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Espanola, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Bayfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This recipe is a favorite in my house. I make it often. The only recommendations I have are toasting the pecans and coconut before adding it because it will add an even more amazing taste. Also make sure you double the frosting portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Loved this cake! Very easy to make. Light and fluffy cake and the frosting was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by King Stephon Hayden
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great recipe... I only changed one thing... I addef 1 oz of semisweet chocolate to the 4 oz of german chocolate to get a chocolaty kick to compliment the sweetness of the german's chocolate... Worked out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by King Stephon Hayden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I was looking for a recipe for home made German Chocolate Cake. After reading all the reviews I decided on this one for my husband's birthday last wk. My husband said this was the best German Chocolate Cake he has ever had, I'm making it again for Father's Day. The only thing I did different was double the frosting so I could have enough in between layers and to put over whole cake. Also when making the frosting make sure to bring your ingredients to a quick boil before going to the next step. Over All Very Wonderful Cake, I wish I could give more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I made according to recipe. Turned out perfect. I've never written a review before but had to correct the many reviewers who added something to the filling to thicken it...DON'T DO IT. The problem they were having is they weren't cooking it long enough. It takes a long time (I didn't time it but it probably took close to a half hour at a slow boil). It will thicken and change color. I knew this because I have made caramel before. Same idea. I frosted the sides just so it would look better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States