German Chocolate Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
I've used recipes from AllRecipes before and loved them all, this one was a challenge for me. I've baked all my life and the only recipes that never turned out right were the ones I used Splenda in... until now. I followed this recipe to a T an everything tastes great; but my cake stuck to the pan and puffed up then deflated, the cake has weird air bubble holes, and the frosting didn't thicken. I found a quick tip to fix teh frosting and the cake is fine as is, so over all I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made a couple of changes to this recipe: put in 6 oz of chocolate, toasted the coconut/nuts, and used gluten free flour. It is delicious!! Great recipe, I only toasted the nuts and coconut out of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Wow! This was the first time I've made a German chocolate cake from scratch and it was awesome ! It takes quite a while to make but it's so worth it ! I made the full recipe and filled a 11x15 inch rectangle cake pan perfectly with it. I did two recipes to make two sheet cakes and then made the icing recipe times 1 1/2 as a filling. As some others suggested, I made sure to toast the coconut in a 350F oven for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally and then toasted the pecans for about 5 minutes. Then I made a German chocolate ganache and covered the cake with marshmallow fondant to decorate as requested by a friend. Everybody LOVED it! It was wonderfully moist and delicious! Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fisk, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Excellent frosting. Added a little bit more pecans and coconut than called for. Used regular chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 4-H Mojo
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I followed the top reviews and doubled the icing and the chocolate drizzle. Posted pic on FB has several people requesting this for their birthday :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
The reason this cake falls apart is because is you sift the cake flour again it makes the flour too fine and hard to work with. I have german chocolate cake crumbs. Another thing is I wouldn't flour it I would use butter instead of cooking spray. Thankfully I made it early so that I will have a cake for the birthday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Nicole Montoya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Espanola, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Bayfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
This recipe is a favorite in my house. I make it often. The only recommendations I have are toasting the pecans and coconut before adding it because it will add an even more amazing taste. Also make sure you double the frosting portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Loved this cake! Very easy to make. Light and fluffy cake and the frosting was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by King Stephon Hayden
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great recipe... I only changed one thing... I addef 1 oz of semisweet chocolate to the 4 oz of german chocolate to get a chocolaty kick to compliment the sweetness of the german's chocolate... Worked out great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by King Stephon Hayden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I was looking for a recipe for home made German Chocolate Cake. After reading all the reviews I decided on this one for my husband's birthday last wk. My husband said this was the best German Chocolate Cake he has ever had, I'm making it again for Father's Day. The only thing I did different was double the frosting so I could have enough in between layers and to put over whole cake. Also when making the frosting make sure to bring your ingredients to a quick boil before going to the next step. Over All Very Wonderful Cake, I wish I could give more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States