German Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Use two egg yolks and frosting and allow at least 15 to 20 minutes to cook. I do not have a double boiler so I use a stainless steel bowl over a pot. Not a recipe for beginners or if you are in rush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I don't get the gripes that others have for this recipe. Maybe its the difference between people who know the terms and those who don't. I'm a dude. I followed the instructions to the Teeeeee. German chocolate is my favorite. I've tried many different recipes. Aside from freezing the cake (because I didn't have to), this is the most moist, and tastiest recipe I've ever had. I've had cakes with $60 dollars of ingredients and weighing over 10 pounds on the safe that didn't taste this good. The icing was perfect, also. If you want to really try this recipe I'd recommend putting the cell phone down. Congratulations on this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I tried making this cake for my husband's b-day and it was a disaster. This was hands down the most frustrating baking experience I've had. I bake, but only do cakes a couple times a year. I should have known NOT to follow the instruction to let the cakes cool in the pans. The cake stuck in the pans so badly. I completely lost one layer. Two other layers had to be pieced together. A trick that worked was to put the pans on the stove to heat the bottom a little until I could slide the cake around in the pan, then I was able to flip the cakes out mostly whole. So, DO NOT LET THESE COOL COMPLETELY IN THE PAN!! Let them cool 10 minutes or so, then run a knife around the edges and try flipping them out of the pans. The cake tasted fine. It's really light and fluffy. I used bittersweet instead of German's chocolate, so it was a little less sweet, but I thought it was great with the rich German Chocolate frosting. I didn't use this recipe (I thought the pics looked weird), I used the "German Chocolate Cake Frosting" recipe instead (http://allrecipes.com/recipe/german-chocolate-cake-frosting/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Thumb&e11=german%20chocolate%20frosting&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Recipe). I would recommend it for flavor, but the instructions aren't accurate and it takes forever to cook until it thickens. So, in the end I was able to save the cake, but I have never ever had so much trouble with a cake in my life. Geez!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Loved it!! Cake was soft and moist...complemented the rich coconut-pecan icing wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I also had problems with the frosting thickening. Someone mentioned that it is running off the sides of the cake in the picture. That is true, but th frosting was still way too runny even compared to the picture. After cooking it for 40 minutes and it not thickening much I thought maybe it would thicken once I added the other ingredients and let it cool. I checked it when it was near cool and it was not thickening so put it in a sauce pan directly on the burner at med-high heat and brought to a full rolling boil, stirring almost constantly, and brought it up to 250 degrees (using a candy thermometer, if you don't have one they are cheap, I bought mine at walmart for about $3). I kept it boiling at 250 for about 10 minutes, still stirring almost constantly, and then removed it from the heat and let it cool. It was just loose enough that you could spoon it on top of the cake and spread it around. Several people said the cake took alot of time. Other than trying to get the frosting right, which I know now how to do it next time so it goes quicker, I found the cake very easy to make and it went very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Delicious!! Moist! Made it for my Husband's 31st b-day and was a hit. I didn't use the frosting recipe, b/c I didn't have that much cream on hand. The texture was pudding-like, but not dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krisD

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I too had a problem with the icing. We add corn sarch & water. Put it directly on the stove be careful not to burn. It thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Golfgirl
Home Town: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is a FANTASTIC recipe! Cake is wonderfully moist. However, I too was unable to get the "frosting" to thicken up. HOWEVER . . . one of the older reviews on this recipe stated that you're making icing, not frosting, so it isn't supposed to be thick. I made a 3-layer cake instead of four. I put a little bit of icing in between layers, poured enough over the top to where it ran down the sides (looked lovely) and put the remainder in a bowl next to the cake. Icing lovers added additional. I enjoyed my slice without extra icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Comes out great! Perfect amount of moistness. For my own taste I will at 1 ounce more chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Terrific cake. Time-consuming, yes, but was a hit with my family. Used a more traditional frosting as other reviews suggested. Didn't know how to beat egg whites to stiff peaks so I googled it. My brown organic eggs where difficult to separate yolks from whites. Would probably by liquid versions of eggs for next time. My first layer cake- tasted much better than it looked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States