German Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
The cake was great! I made it for my father's birthday(a day ahead of time) The icing a little thinner than I like, but I know cornstarch(a teaspoon at a time) will thicken any liquid. Also, I put the icing between the layers and on the top only. Used fudge icing for the sides and a border on the top, then filled in the top with this icing and used the fudge one to write on the cake with. As for the double broiler issue, as was suggested, a metal, or glass bowl in a pot. Also, due to modern convinece a micro wave works well to(30 seconds at a time and stirring between each time segmant. But the most important thing I think everyone should remember is this. Baking is an exact SCIENCE! If you do not follow the messurments precisley, the recipe is doomed before it every goes into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Scarlett, I'm sorry about your friend's lack of cake, but you can make a double boiler with a metal bowl set inside a saucepot with somme water in it. You don't need to go out and buy one. I would recommend using a tried and true recipe for a special occasion, rather than one you haven't made before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I had this recipe for quite sometimes and I made it this past weekend. The cake was great!! It was moist and it barely lasted a day. Now I know some of you had problem with the icing. Well, I went to the orignal (4 egg yolks, 1/2 stick butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 can pet milk, 1 1/2 cup of sugar) cook for 12-20 min depends how thich you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
I made this cake for my best friend's birthday party (which I was hostessing). The icing directions say "until the mixure thickens." THICKENS TO WHAT CONSISTENCY?? DOES THAT MEAN I COOK IT 4 MINUTES OR 15 MINUTES?" I'm sure that's why the other reviewer's icing didn't solidify. Thickens like pudding? Thickens like glue? Who knows?? The author of this recipe might want to include the number of minutes neccessary to acheive this "Thick"ness. Also, a double boiler?????????? I don't know anyone that even OWNS a double boiler, other than my grandmother. Needless to say, my friend did not have a birthday cake for her birthday. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
When I was making this, I was saying to myself--I'm not sure I will make this again-lots of steps, time, ingredients. But just one taste changed my mind. I took it to my daughter's school for the teachers and staff--they keep talking about it even now. I did add about 1 tsp. cornstarch and doulbed the icing and frosted the sides. I also used 4 oz. German choc. plus 1 oz semi-sweet for the cake. A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
To all of you who complain of the frosing not being thick enough! Have you looked at the picture?! The Frosting is dripping down the cake, which means its' not supposed to be thick also if you left yourselve enough time you would have had time enough to make a new cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
I totally agree! This is the best "German Chocolate Cake" recipe I have found. It does take some extra time but it is WELL worth your effort. It comes out light and fluffy and moist and the frosting is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
The cake is time consuming to make. I had the same problem with the icing not thickening. I finally took it off the heat, added lots more coconut then called for and put it in the fridge for a while. At that point though I still went out and bought some frosting because I didn't have enough to cover all the layers and the top and sides of the cake. Next time I think I will do it Betty Crocker's way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Comes out great! Perfect amount of moistness. For my own taste I will at 1 ounce more chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Bridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sanford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This is a FANTASTIC recipe! Cake is wonderfully moist. However, I too was unable to get the "frosting" to thicken up. HOWEVER . . . one of the older reviews on this recipe stated that you're making icing, not frosting, so it isn't supposed to be thick. I made a 3-layer cake instead of four. I put a little bit of icing in between layers, poured enough over the top to where it ran down the sides (looked lovely) and put the remainder in a bowl next to the cake. Icing lovers added additional. I enjoyed my slice without extra icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States