German Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
When I was making this, I was saying to myself--I'm not sure I will make this again-lots of steps, time, ingredients. But just one taste changed my mind. I took it to my daughter's school for the teachers and staff--they keep talking about it even now. I did add about 1 tsp. cornstarch and doulbed the icing and frosted the sides. I also used 4 oz. German choc. plus 1 oz semi-sweet for the cake. A definite winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
AMAZING!! I suggest making the filling before making the cake... even a day earlier. The filling needs plenty of time to thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texasfairbaker
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This is my favorite cake to eat as well as my husband. Made it for the superbowl party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasfairbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
The best German Chocolate Cake ever! I used store bought icing, since I don't even know what a double boiler is, but the cake was phenomenal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
The cake was great! I made it for my father's birthday(a day ahead of time) The icing a little thinner than I like, but I know cornstarch(a teaspoon at a time) will thicken any liquid. Also, I put the icing between the layers and on the top only. Used fudge icing for the sides and a border on the top, then filled in the top with this icing and used the fudge one to write on the cake with. As for the double broiler issue, as was suggested, a metal, or glass bowl in a pot. Also, due to modern convinece a micro wave works well to(30 seconds at a time and stirring between each time segmant. But the most important thing I think everyone should remember is this. Baking is an exact SCIENCE! If you do not follow the messurments precisley, the recipe is doomed before it every goes into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Scarlett, I'm sorry about your friend's lack of cake, but you can make a double boiler with a metal bowl set inside a saucepot with somme water in it. You don't need to go out and buy one. I would recommend using a tried and true recipe for a special occasion, rather than one you haven't made before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
To all of you who complain of the frosing not being thick enough! Have you looked at the picture?! The Frosting is dripping down the cake, which means its' not supposed to be thick also if you left yourselve enough time you would have had time enough to make a new cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
this recipe looks great and hey, if it's got buttermilk in it it's got to be good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
My husband absolutely loves German chocolate cake. He says this is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I had this recipe for quite sometimes and I made it this past weekend. The cake was great!! It was moist and it barely lasted a day. Now I know some of you had problem with the icing. Well, I went to the orignal (4 egg yolks, 1/2 stick butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 can pet milk, 1 1/2 cup of sugar) cook for 12-20 min depends how thich you want it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States