German Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
The cake was great, I had a lot of trouble with the icing I could not get the icing thick enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I have no idea what anybody is talking about, with the icing not being thick enough? Our icing was the consistency of average icing, and may I add that it was one of the most tasty icings I've every out into my mouth? DE-licious! I have to say though, that this cake was not very chocolaty, so next time I will add an extra square of chocolate and some cocoa powder. We drizzled some caramel on top, so it made it look even prettier, and made it taste even better! Instead of German chocolate cake this was more like gooey caramel cake. But we didn't care, we all ate every last bite! A very moist and flavorful cake, I will definetly make this again. (Oh, and don't worry, the batter should be very puffy)Delicious, thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creative_Cook28

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Made this for my moms birthday. None of us liked it that much, somewhat bland chocolate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drmstr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Very dry - disappointing. Made it in 2 10 inch pans and it stayed very flat - won't be making this again - didn't even bother to frost it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I made this for my husbands birthday and found the cake to be good but I had a terrible time with the frosting and ended up (after all my hard work) going out and purchasing store bought frosting to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gelleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I have not made this recipe but it sounds delicious and that is why I gae it a 4. I was thinking that if you omit the eggs when you make the icing, use heavy whipping cream, you will beat it til it does get thick, then add cocnut and nuts and beat till stiff, there would be no need to cook it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
The cake was labor intensive, but not difficult. The frosting didn't work at all. "cook the mixutre until it thickens". It only thinned! What a waste of ingredients. I recommend making the cake but finding another frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I tried this cake today but haven't eaten it yet. Although, the cake looks fluffy and yummy. The icing problem was same for me, didn't thicken, buuuuuuttt I found a solution I bet no one would ever think of. I used instant potato flakes and added them in until the icing got thick enough for me. Then upon adding the coconut and pecans it got a perfect consistancy. BTW the instant potatoe flakes tend to pick up the flavor they go into so they do not taste like potato. Try it with stews and things you want thickened, it'll do it better than cornstarch, after all cornstarch tends to give a different taste and sometimes don't do the trick, as it did not to this icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This cake was really good, but it was a little too dry for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Made this for my son's party. I must admit I even went to the store and bought a back-up cake mix...but it was completely unecessary! This is a hit among children and adults who dont have to watch their weight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States