German Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
The picture of the cake is very enticing but the recipe didn't include the icing and drizzle so I found "Best chocolate frosting" and "Easy Chocolate Bundt Cake Glaze" to connect the coconut spread on top to the frosting on the side. This was my first non-box cake and I was very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Fantastic!!!! We don't have German's baking chocolate here, so I took a tip from a substitutions site and added 1/2 Tablespoon sugar to each ounce of the semi-sweet chocolate that I used. I also needed a little more cream to make the topping spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
The five stars is for the cake, however, the icing recipe is not complete. Please post recipes targeting a 7 year old reading level. Make it clear as to what you should do, step by step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Crawfordsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I used agave instead of sugar, a goose egg instead of two chicken eggs, and ghirardelli unsweetened baking squares instead of German chocolate. The cake itself turned out to be a fabulous chocolate cake! Very moist and delicious. As for the frosting, well, it's not true German chocolate cake frosting. This is a great recipe for a good chocolate cake. I'll just try a different frosting recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texacaliutahgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Delicious! I served this as dessert when my in-laws came over for dinner. Everyone loved it! I made it with Splenda and I served it with no-sugar added vanilla ice-cream. The frosting is especially tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minonk, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metamora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Great recipe! Not dry at all. If you are using all purpose flour instead of cake flour, be sure to subtract 3 tablespoons from the 1 1/2 cups, or else you could end up with a dry cake. Also, I only baked it for 30 minutes instead of 40, my oven tends to bake fast, so I just kept an eye on it and as soon as a knife came out clean, I took it out (dry cake can also be a result of over baking) . This is a much easier, cheaper and more convenient recipe than others I found, which appeals to me as a busy mom. I loved it, my husband loved it, and we will be using it again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
the cake recipe was very good and turned out very moist. but, the frosting was a little weird so i would suggest a canned/store bought type or another recipe's frosting. good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osage, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I am not a baker of cakes, but for my husbands birthday he asked for a German chocolate cake (his favorite) so I thought I would try it... This recipe was the easiest one so I tried it and it turned out great. Very moist, not too sweet and everyone loved it, I do not love coconut so I can only say from my point of view the cake was extra yummy! Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
We chose this recipe for our Pastries class for our final project.It turned out great! it is the most delicious cake I have ever eaten! I think I am gonna make today one for my family! I would rate it even more then 5 stars.(We actually changed it a little bit.After we made the dough we cut it in two equal parts and made the cake from two layers. And we added some frosting on top and between layers. :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristinka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
The recipe was okay. I didn't really like it much. I ate some. Probably wont try that recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States