German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Low heat and 10 minute cooking is laughable. After 22 minutes of stirring on 3, I raised the heat to 5, which is medium. Continued stirring for ten more minutes finally got it to thicken. Tastes good! I was using it on brownies, so eliminated the coconut and doubled the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yay4yummyfood
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I bought the store bought German chocolate cake and wanted to make homemade frosting. I had a time constraint and am naturally a very slooow baker/cook, but was able to whip this frosting up in a hurry! And it was delicious! The people at the party loved it. I did turn the heat up to medium/high to thicken it up faster, about 12min of constant stirring like another reviewer mentioned. Worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I loved this! I actually forgot to add the butter but it still turned out great. I can only imagine that the butter would make it taste even better! Next time, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jac Zifos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Peterson
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I wish I could give it honestly more than 3 stars but this frosting didn't hold up to what I expected of it. It never thickened and it tasted ok. Betty Crocker has a German chocolate cake frosting called Rich & Creamy Coconut Pecan frosting that just taste fabulous and with the right consistency of thickness to stay put on the cake. It didn't cost a lot so I will stick to just buying it since my Husband and Kids liked that one better as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Peterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I never made this kind of frosting before. I only did it out of necessity. However, I was surprised by how easy it was to make and how delicious it tasted! It was excellent. I didn't know how "thick" thick should be, so I almost gave up. I think I cooked it about 15 minutes before I was satisfied with it and for extra measure I added more coconut than the recipe called for to make sure it was thick enough. Turned out perfect. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Great tasting frosting and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This frosting turned out perfect. I doubled the batch because I was making a BIG cake. I ended up having enough left over to freeze and make another. It was awesome both times! My mum literally had multiple family members *hint* that she wanted the same German Chocolate Cake I made with this frosting recipe for Mother's Day. She also told me herself, about three times :) It was a hit and everyone loved it. I didn't change a thing! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jocovich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This recipe was delicious, but next time I will follow the suggestion to use the entire can of milk and increase the other ingredients accordingly. There is never enough of this yummy frosting for German chocolate cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This is a traditional recipe for frosting a German chocolate cake. If you spend the time to cook it slowly on med heat, and continue to stir it will thicken. It has a rich carmel color and looks as good as it tastes. This is the one! Oh, and if you don't like your frosting super sweet, I used unsweetened flaked coconut (Bobs Red Mill)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I changed nothing and it made a fab frosting for my cake! So easy and 300 times better than bought frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States