German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
A candy thermometer comes in handy while making this. It should get to 170 degrees to make sure eggs are safe. I cooked mine over medium-low heat until it hit 170 and then for another few minutes, during which it got really thick. Then took it off the burner to add coconut and nuts. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
as i stared it, It was OK, it came out,, just weird,, ill try it again at some point only because it was probably my fault it came out wierd, though i did follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Haxton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittney Careathers
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
The frosting couldve been a bit thicker, but it taste great! !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittney Careathers
Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Orcasguy
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I followed the directions faithfully. It turned out wonderful. I made this while visiting family in Yinchaun Ningxia China, I had to make the cake from scratch. What a great resource this site is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orcas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I had to try this one because of the brown sugar. I followed RTNKT directions of med heat for 12 minutes and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is the real deal. Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This frosting is worth the effort just for how amazing it makes your home smell. But in addition to that, it also tastes out of this world! Does take a while to thicken properly on medium heat but you'll know when you've hit the sweet spot by the color and amazing Carmel fragrance. Very worth the effort and patience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dieadra Reeves
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Cooked over medium heat for 20 min with this exact recipe. It came out so delicious and made my cake look amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redhen56
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I never have made a German Chocolate cake! This was fun but fell short on frosting for sides and in between. Will need to double amount next time.But.mmmm good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redhen56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I needed some frosting for my brownies, and this recipe was perfect. I had three extra large eggs, but as I am no juggler, one fell and broke on the kitchen floor, so I used two extra large egg yolks, cooked the frosting for about 20 minutes on low, whisking constantly. I made no other changes, and let the frosting cool for about an hour. I had no problems with the frosting being too thin, even with just two eggs! I like the richness that the brown sugar gives to the final product. I will NEVER purchase German chocolate cake frosting again. This is a far superior product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Parris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States