German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cookingfor7
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for. Why buy a can frosting when you can make it from scatch so easily???!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Loved it! I took the many recommendations and toasted both the coconut and the pecans. I too cooked it for almos 20 minutes to get it to the right consistency. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuttle, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
AMAZING. I never even liked German chocolate cake until I tried my grandma's about a month ago. I had a craving but I was like, "No way am I going to be able to pull this off." Especially seeing as some other recipes people were saying their's never thickened. My first try and I nailed it! I added more pecans than coconut though and it was PERFECT. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
Easier than I thought it was going to be. Growing up I loved this kind of frosting, thought I could only get it out of a can. (not a big baker) I have never made a frosting you had to cook before. It took a little longer to thicken than I thought it would. It was worth the time. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Made this frosting, just as listed---it's absolutely amazing. Cooking took approximately 20 min...but well worth the time. I put it between the layers, and on the top, frosting the side with rich mocha frosting (of my own) Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Made this for my nieces birthday. I toasted the coconut and pecans before adding and that was the ticket! I doubled the recipe and had a cup left over after generously frosting double layered cake so I made another cake 3 days later. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I'm so glad I made this recipe and not one of the others that were on this site. This one looked a lot easier but didn't have as many ratings. I decided to give this one a try and it was wonderful! My husband loves German Chocolate cake and so I made it for his birthday. I decided to go for a home made frosting instead of out of the can, and I'm glad I did. This is easy to make. I boiled it for about 20 minutes on medium, added the nuts and coconut and let cool. I didn't have to add anything to get it to be thick enough, like I read about in other reviews of other recipes. This one turned out great and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Versatile and easy. I scaled it down to 1/3 the size and substituted heavy cream for the evaporated milk. Very rich and very delicious. Wish I'd had pecans or walnuts on hand -- would have been even better! Slathered it all over a tiny chocolate cake over some chocolate icing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Wonderful frosting! The key to this thickening up is to stir and cook over medium heat for about 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I've used toasted unsweetened coconut and toasted pecans. It turned out great without any modifications. My husband was very happy about his all-from-scratch german chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States