German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2000
This frosting recipe was easy and turned out fabulous. Make sure you cook over medium to medium heat while stirring constantly to obtain a thick consistancy. I'm a grandma and the smell of the brown sugar, milk, eggs and butter cooking reminded me of my first job in the summer of 1963 where I made carmel corn from scratch each day. This recipe is well worth the little extra effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Wonderful frosting! The key to this thickening up is to stir and cook over medium heat for about 12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I'm so glad I made this recipe and not one of the others that were on this site. This one looked a lot easier but didn't have as many ratings. I decided to give this one a try and it was wonderful! My husband loves German Chocolate cake and so I made it for his birthday. I decided to go for a home made frosting instead of out of the can, and I'm glad I did. This is easy to make. I boiled it for about 20 minutes on medium, added the nuts and coconut and let cool. I didn't have to add anything to get it to be thick enough, like I read about in other reviews of other recipes. This one turned out great and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This German Chocolate Cake Frosting is different from the others because it calls for brown sugar. Most of the others call for White Sugar. Brown sugar is what my friends like. Also, I toasted the pecans and the coconut in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes. I hate using partial containers of things like 8 ounces of evap milk from a 12 ounce can, so I upped the other ingredients accordingly...12 oz evap milk, 1 1/2 c sugar, 4 egg yolks, 3/4c butter, etc. You can't have too much of this frosting. It's like eating candy. Thanks, Denise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Perfect traditional frosting for German Chocolate Cake! Easy and so-sooooo much tastier than a container of store bought. The recipe as written wasn't quite enough to frost a double layer 8 inch cake. I will make an additional 1/2 recipe to this next time - and will double the recipe if making a 3 layer cake. **After making this a few times since rating I would suggest the following slight changes: 1/2c white & 1/2c brown sugar; also increase the coconut to 2c, pecans to 1.5c; this perfects a box German Chocolate cake mix if you don't have time for scratch cake & works very well on cupcakes.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Initially, I thought this was not very smooth and had an eggy flavor (I added 13c condensed milk to counter this), but it improved after cooling. My boyfriend loves this frosting. I cooked it for about 20-25 minutes, and it became very thick with a carmel flavor. I toasted the coconut and pecans before adding, and I would definitely recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This was absolutely the best frosting I have ever had. Mine turned out great,and it smelled so good while it was cooking. I could have eaten it all with a spoon rather than putting it on the cake.... YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I've used toasted unsweetened coconut and toasted pecans. It turned out great without any modifications. My husband was very happy about his all-from-scratch german chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookingfor7
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Exactly what I was looking for. Why buy a can frosting when you can make it from scatch so easily???!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfor7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitanakagusuku, Okinawa, Japan
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Tasty! I only had sweetened condensed milk, so I cut back on the sugar a bit and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States