German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I loved it and made it for my out of town company. Everyone couldn't stop talking about it. It was very easy to make. I'm making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Ive never had German Chocolate, so i didnt know how thick the frosting was supposed to be. It tastes pretty good but this recipe could be a bit more helpful if it had how many minutes of stirring. I possibly stood for half an hour and my frosting is still runny :( im cooling it in the fridge to see if itll thicken :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I boiled the first five ingredients until the mixture reached 208F. It took about 15 minutes on med-high. I doubled the coconut (sweetened, flaked)and pecans just because I love them. Frosting turned out great. Perfect consistency, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My hubby loves it when I make this homemade frosting! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
It was a little thin, but it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
German Chocolate Cake is prob my most favorite so I picked up a box the other day with intentions of making home-made frosting. I have made this type of frosting many times,so right now I am calling myself all kinds of nasty names as I choose to go off course & put a few changes in Denise's receipe. . So today I decided to toast both the coconut & nuts that went into the frosting. Big mistake as I over cooked them twice & waisted money on those darned pecans,not happy with myself. I have made this frosting many times, one nearly like it anyway & it always came out good but I also know that toasting nuts bring out more flavor so that is why I tried & didn't go back & research oven temp. Instead I just did them @ 325 degrees with my cake, plus I chopped them up first , prob another mistake. I do suggest putting the icing on while it is still warm, have always done it that way. Sueh48
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holliday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waverly, New York, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
this was just ok. needs salt, cook low about 20-30 min to thicken properly. This was too sweet using store bought coconut. grate your own and toast it in the oven. If I make it again with packaged coconut, need to reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Wonderful! Used half a cup of evap milk (just what I had open in the fridge) and half a cup of whole milk. Cooked for 12 minutes but ended up putting in a little corn starch for insurance. Turned out perfect and so delish! I will never, ever buy German chocolate frosting from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is the first time I have made German Chocolate frosting instead of buying the can. This recipe is wonderful! It was easy. I doubled it and it turned out great. The flavor, texture, and consistancy are perfect. SO much better than the can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Great recipe! So, easy to make and the taste is wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States