German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Perfect every time! I even make it sugarfree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenneth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Really easy to make and tastes terrific. Amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Best recipe. You have to have patience when it comes to the mixture thickening. Turn that heat to low or medium, and keep stirring!!!! I made this frosting before. It was a disaster because I didn't follow instructions about the heat and the constant stirring. Second time around I aced it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This frosting is simple to make and tastes fantastic! I was a little concerned when the frosting looked a bit 'cloudy' when first finished however, overnight the frosting resting in the refrigerator looked exactly the way it should the next morning for icing the cake. Great color ~ great texture ~ great taste! Absolutely delicious!! Aunt Tilly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by justmeinpa
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
loved this recipe, turned out great, will definitely make it again. only thing i did differently is i mixed he egg yolks and the milk first before i added it to the pan just to make sure the yolk would curdle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This frosting was absolutely delicious! The cake disappeared in less than two days! It was easy to make, and I had no problem getting it to thicken. The key is to cook it on medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
An excellent recipe! A couple of alterations I made to it were... 1) as other reviewers suggested, cooking it on med/low to med heat, but I only stirred occasionally. 2) I found it to be a bit thin even after the cooking process, so I just added more coconut (approx 1/2 to 1 cup additional). Next time I make this (and I most definitely will), I may cut down on the sugar a bit as I typically use sweetened coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Made this today to frost a boxed German Chocolate cake. It was delicious. Very easy recipe. I thought that I hadnt cooked the mixture long enough because it didnt seem overly thick, but once it cooled it was the perfect consistency. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This recipe was incredibly easy to make and tasted absolutely delicious! I poured ganache over the layers of cake and used the frosting for the center of the cake and the top leaving the ganache for the sides leaving it beautiful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe was super easy! After one failed attempt with another recipe, this one was a blessing! Perfect! I also used almonds instead of pecans. Still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States