German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by justmeinpa
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
loved this recipe, turned out great, will definitely make it again. only thing i did differently is i mixed he egg yolks and the milk first before i added it to the pan just to make sure the yolk would curdle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This frosting was absolutely delicious! The cake disappeared in less than two days! It was easy to make, and I had no problem getting it to thicken. The key is to cook it on medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
An excellent recipe! A couple of alterations I made to it were... 1) as other reviewers suggested, cooking it on med/low to med heat, but I only stirred occasionally. 2) I found it to be a bit thin even after the cooking process, so I just added more coconut (approx 1/2 to 1 cup additional). Next time I make this (and I most definitely will), I may cut down on the sugar a bit as I typically use sweetened coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Made this today to frost a boxed German Chocolate cake. It was delicious. Very easy recipe. I thought that I hadnt cooked the mixture long enough because it didnt seem overly thick, but once it cooled it was the perfect consistency. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niffer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This recipe was incredibly easy to make and tasted absolutely delicious! I poured ganache over the layers of cake and used the frosting for the center of the cake and the top leaving the ganache for the sides leaving it beautiful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This recipe was super easy! After one failed attempt with another recipe, this one was a blessing! Perfect! I also used almonds instead of pecans. Still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I couldn't find my recipe book, so I hopped on here thinking I could find one like my great grandmothers... I noticed the brown sugar, but thought "why not?" Decent enough to say not to try it, but not good enough for me nor even close to traditional! It tastes way more like caramel and less nutty/coconut as it should be. German chocolate cake icing should NEVER have brown sugar!!! That being said, you have to use way more nuts and pecan dust as well. Sorry, I will stick to my great grandmothers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAC29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by makennamm
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
great recipe! I almost gave up on it at first when I couldn't get it to thicken, but then I read the reviews that said to cook it on medium/high instead of low, and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
The only reason I rate this 4 stars is because, personally, I am not much of a German chocolate cake eater. But I made this recipe for someone else. I followed the instructions as much as possilbe (a little difficult for me to get the egg yolk out without much of the white getting into it) but for the most part, I think I did a good job. We'll let the person I made this for be the judge. I made it with my own homemade chocolate cake recipe. I'll re-post the review from the guest of honor :-) Update 11/27/2010 Well the guest of honor had the cake and have asked me to make three more, wow!!! She was having friends over for Thanksgiving and she told me that she had to literally hide the cake because her guests loved it so much. As a matter of fact, they are the ones that called and placed an order. Like I said, the German Chocolate Cake isn't a cake of my choice, but I'll be making this a lot more since people seems to love it so much. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe. Kudos to you Denise!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Ruskin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Amazing recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States