German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Have not cooked the frosting yet and am still waiting for my German cake to bake at the moment, but I was wondering if I could use shortening instead of butter as I am out of butter unfortunately...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Absolutely the best German Chocolate Cake frosting I've ever made! Thanks for this great recipe. The only thing I found was you must cook this on medium-medium high heat stirring constantly to get that thick creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was the best frosting! The hardest part was stirring it for 15 minutes. I followed the advice of others and used the entire 12 oz. can of evaporated milk and adjusted the remaining ingredients accordingly. I made a 13 x 9 German chocolate cake and was able to put frosting in the middle and frost the top. My advice is not to have the heat too high because I noticed some of the egg starting to scramble a bit. I immediately turned the heat down. I ended up straining the liquid mixture to make sure I had no egg in the frosting and to keep it creamy. I then added the pecans and coconut. I did toast the pecans a coconut a for about 10 minutes and 300 degrees. I let the frosting cool and it thickened up nicely! I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This turned out too thin for my liking. The taste, however, was phenomenal! A few tips: first, I doubled the recipe. As one of the other reviews pointed out - it's a wast to dump 1/2 a cup of evaporated milk. I was making three layers anyhow, so I needed the extra frosting. I added 1/2 cup coconut milk to make 2 cups of 'milk'. next, I toasted my pecans and coconut. This really pronounced the flavors of each. thirdly, after simmering the liquid on the stove before adding the nuts and coconut, I strained it through a fine mesh strainer to catch any cooked egg white that might have slipped in. It was tricky getting all of the white out when separating the yolks. lastly, in order to thicken it I really didn't want to stand over the stove for 20 minutes and risk cooking the egg or changing the sugar composition so I cheated and added about 1/3-1/2 cup flour (for the doubled recipe) after I had chilled it in the fridge for an hour. This did NOT alter the flavor or texture in any significant way. I even did taste tests between that and other thickening agents and this trumped all others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
While the flavor is really good, the color seems somewhat off and it so didn't set!! I must have added at least a 1/3 cup of corn starch to get it to set and then there seemed to be a predominate eggy flavor. Once it cooled, it mostly set up and the eggy flavor was lost in the cake but it wasn't what I'd hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lithium3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
So easy and way better than canned. It makes a lot more than I thought it would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
First time making this, didnot know what to expect because I doubled the recipe but had trouble to getting it thick on low heat but after reading reviews on here helped me a lot. Donnot be afraid to bump the heat up so it can boil. That was the biggest help....turned out to be so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Alligood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Simply amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
It tasted good - very caramel. Since it doesn't say how thick to cook it, I cooked and cooked and it never got thicker (40 min). Then when it cooled it was the consistency of play dough. We stuck it to the birthday cake anyhow. Next time I will buy the stuff from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Simple to make and scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emb

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States