German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My hubby loves it when I make this homemade frosting! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
It was a little thin, but it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
German Chocolate Cake is prob my most favorite so I picked up a box the other day with intentions of making home-made frosting. I have made this type of frosting many times,so right now I am calling myself all kinds of nasty names as I choose to go off course & put a few changes in Denise's receipe. . So today I decided to toast both the coconut & nuts that went into the frosting. Big mistake as I over cooked them twice & waisted money on those darned pecans,not happy with myself. I have made this frosting many times, one nearly like it anyway & it always came out good but I also know that toasting nuts bring out more flavor so that is why I tried & didn't go back & research oven temp. Instead I just did them @ 325 degrees with my cake, plus I chopped them up first , prob another mistake. I do suggest putting the icing on while it is still warm, have always done it that way. Sueh48
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holliday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waverly, New York, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
this was just ok. needs salt, cook low about 20-30 min to thicken properly. This was too sweet using store bought coconut. grate your own and toast it in the oven. If I make it again with packaged coconut, need to reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Armenia, Quindio, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Wonderful! Used half a cup of evap milk (just what I had open in the fridge) and half a cup of whole milk. Cooked for 12 minutes but ended up putting in a little corn starch for insurance. Turned out perfect and so delish! I will never, ever buy German chocolate frosting from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is the first time I have made German Chocolate frosting instead of buying the can. This recipe is wonderful! It was easy. I doubled it and it turned out great. The flavor, texture, and consistancy are perfect. SO much better than the can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Great recipe! So, easy to make and the taste is wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This is so very easy AND so very delicious. The first time I tried it I was out of pecans...and even walnuts substituted in this were delicious. Since then, I've used the pecans. I've tried slightly browning the nuts and coconut before adding them to the cooked mixture, and like that a little bit better--but either way, this recipe is a WINNER! Thanks Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I have to agree with WiddoMouse! This is the most decadent German Chocolate Frosting I have ever tasted. Having never made this frosting before, I did some reading. I liked the brown sugar part and then WiddoMouse said to toast the pecans and the coconut...to die for! I too too her suggestion and used a full can of evaporated mile and upped the rest of the recipe accordingly. This is just the best and I can't wait to serve it to fellow employees tomorrow for a birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
It is ok--I like he traditional GC frosting better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States