German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Oh my goodness, loved this frosting! I did temper my egg yolks for a perfectly smooth base before I added the coconut and pecans. I've been looking for this one for years. Thank-you so much. The brown sugar is the secret ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I didn't use the eggs, added a little more butter, used sweetened condensed milk and added lots more pecan & coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Fantastic! Delicious frosting for a german chocolate cake. Worth the effort! It tastes about 100 times better than the stuff you buy in the plastic can at the grocery store. I made a boxed german chocolate cake mix to save time, but used this recipe for the frosting and the entire cake was a hit. I made it in a 9x13 pan and there was plenty of frosting, enough so that I could enjoy a little straight from the spoon...you know, for quality control purposes. Will never try another version. It really is THAT good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This frosting is very good. To lower the cholesterol, I omitted all egg yolks and instead dissolved one tsp cornstarch in one Tbsp evaporated milk. I added this while cooking and it was thickened in 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I loved it and made it for my out of town company. Everyone couldn't stop talking about it. It was very easy to make. I'm making it again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Ive never had German Chocolate, so i didnt know how thick the frosting was supposed to be. It tastes pretty good but this recipe could be a bit more helpful if it had how many minutes of stirring. I possibly stood for half an hour and my frosting is still runny :( im cooling it in the fridge to see if itll thicken :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I boiled the first five ingredients until the mixture reached 208F. It took about 15 minutes on med-high. I doubled the coconut (sweetened, flaked)and pecans just because I love them. Frosting turned out great. Perfect consistency, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
My hubby loves it when I make this homemade frosting! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
It was a little thin, but it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
German Chocolate Cake is prob my most favorite so I picked up a box the other day with intentions of making home-made frosting. I have made this type of frosting many times,so right now I am calling myself all kinds of nasty names as I choose to go off course & put a few changes in Denise's receipe. . So today I decided to toast both the coconut & nuts that went into the frosting. Big mistake as I over cooked them twice & waisted money on those darned pecans,not happy with myself. I have made this frosting many times, one nearly like it anyway & it always came out good but I also know that toasting nuts bring out more flavor so that is why I tried & didn't go back & research oven temp. Instead I just did them @ 325 degrees with my cake, plus I chopped them up first , prob another mistake. I do suggest putting the icing on while it is still warm, have always done it that way. Sueh48
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Holliday

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waverly, New York, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States