German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
This frosting turned out perfect. I doubled the batch because I was making a BIG cake. I ended up having enough left over to freeze and make another. It was awesome both times! My mum literally had multiple family members *hint* that she wanted the same German Chocolate Cake I made with this frosting recipe for Mother's Day. She also told me herself, about three times :) It was a hit and everyone loved it. I didn't change a thing! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jocovich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
This recipe was delicious, but next time I will follow the suggestion to use the entire can of milk and increase the other ingredients accordingly. There is never enough of this yummy frosting for German chocolate cakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This is a traditional recipe for frosting a German chocolate cake. If you spend the time to cook it slowly on med heat, and continue to stir it will thicken. It has a rich carmel color and looks as good as it tastes. This is the one! Oh, and if you don't like your frosting super sweet, I used unsweetened flaked coconut (Bobs Red Mill)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I changed nothing and it made a fab frosting for my cake! So easy and 300 times better than bought frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This is magnificent! I needed a German chocolate birthday cake, and my attempt to make the cake from scratch resulted in absolute garbage. I decided to doctor up a box cake and hide it under the most fabulous frosting I could make. This fit the bill! Why buy a tub of preservatives when a few minutes time and some simple ingredients results in this? Thanks for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
This recipe is average at best. It would not be my first choice but in a pinch it will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
My friend who really likes German Chocolate Cake really liked this but I thought it was kind of gross. I think I just don't like German Chocolate Cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Girl in Beige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Flavor is great! However, the icing barely covered double layer cake with one batch. Recommend doubling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
EASY to make. Great taste. My family and friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by all4beauty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States