German Chocolate Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This is the real deal. Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This frosting is worth the effort just for how amazing it makes your home smell. But in addition to that, it also tastes out of this world! Does take a while to thicken properly on medium heat but you'll know when you've hit the sweet spot by the color and amazing Carmel fragrance. Very worth the effort and patience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dieadra Reeves
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Cooked over medium heat for 20 min with this exact recipe. It came out so delicious and made my cake look amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by redhen56
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I never have made a German Chocolate cake! This was fun but fell short on frosting for sides and in between. Will need to double amount next time.But.mmmm good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redhen56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I needed some frosting for my brownies, and this recipe was perfect. I had three extra large eggs, but as I am no juggler, one fell and broke on the kitchen floor, so I used two extra large egg yolks, cooked the frosting for about 20 minutes on low, whisking constantly. I made no other changes, and let the frosting cool for about an hour. I had no problems with the frosting being too thin, even with just two eggs! I like the richness that the brown sugar gives to the final product. I will NEVER purchase German chocolate cake frosting again. This is a far superior product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
The people who said you have to cook it on a little higher heat and longer are right. It is way too thin if you don't. I've tried the canned frosting and I never loved it but bought it again because I wanted to save time but it has a chemical taste to it so I ended up making this anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Loved it. I used sliced almonds instead of the pecans for my grandpas birthday cake. Filled the cake with this and then iced the outside with dark chocolate ganache. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene Jennings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Made this for my husband's birthday, frosted an organic chocolate cake (double layer). It was a big hit with him and his folks! Very, very good! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Low heat and 10 minute cooking is laughable. After 22 minutes of stirring on 3, I raised the heat to 5, which is medium. Continued stirring for ten more minutes finally got it to thicken. Tastes good! I was using it on brownies, so eliminated the coconut and doubled the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yay4yummyfood
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I bought the store bought German chocolate cake and wanted to make homemade frosting. I had a time constraint and am naturally a very slooow baker/cook, but was able to whip this frosting up in a hurry! And it was delicious! The people at the party loved it. I did turn the heat up to medium/high to thicken it up faster, about 12min of constant stirring like another reviewer mentioned. Worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States