German Chocolate Brownie Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
My family loved these chewy cookies. The only thing I changed is I didn't make the homemade icing, instead I purchased the Betty Crocker pecan frosting that's already prepared (much cheaper and easier than buying the nuts and making it yourself).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Great cookies - very rich and chocolatey. Make sure cookies are completely cooled before icing or they break apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Perfect! I found this recipe doing an ingredient search, as I am down to bare bones. I didn't have Baking Soda, but they still turned out very well. My hubby is happily munching away on a warm one right now. Will def use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
My mother loves German Chocolate cake. I think she likes these cookies even more! I can't wait to make another batch. These cookies impressed my brother who is critical of everything. All the cookies were gone in two days. Make sure to let the icing cook awhile and if it seems runny, add more sugar. I definitely will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANINEGRANT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
These cookies are really good! They taste like double chocolate chip cookies w/ German chocolate frosting. But, I didn't give 5 stars b/c they are really messy to eat and stick to my cookie sheets really bad. I prefer a cookie to be more portable. And, I like to bring cookies to gatherings to share, but with the frosting, they don't package well. But, like I said, really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
I read all the reviews and tried it. I could not understand why it did not hold shape or resemble a cookie. After I baked them, they crumbled, were pretty much flat and more like a fudge then a brownie cookie, I expected more of a brownie consistancy (half cookie half cake). I thought I made an error some where, forgot something for it to have turned out this badly (my taste buds though) I made this to give to give to a caregiver and had to hold it back. I wasted the chips. I'm going to have to see if I can give it away. I'm giving it a ** because the chips saved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
mmmmm~~~~so good! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
not bad. i used actual hersheys kisses, not finding any other chocolate to bake with and it still turned out great. did the recipe by hand (no electris mixer) and it still worked. just wished it was more moist and chewy. maybe if i added more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YLUCIANO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Very easy to make! I followed the recipe exactly, except I added a bit more coconut to the icing and a tad bit less choc. chips in the batter. Super tasty, huge chocolate flavour! I will make again... make with a different icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
I added nuts and coconut to the cookies and omitted the frosting and they came out very good. I also used butter instead of shortening. Next time I'll make them I'll cut down on the sugar and leave out the coconut though, because they are just a bit too sweet for me. They are delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States