German Chocolate Brownie Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
These cookies are really, really good. Even without the frosting, which is delicious, the cookies are divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
very good I enjoyed them with and without the frosting. My husband liked them better with the frosting. very rich!! but, yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
My mother loves German Chocolate cake. I think she likes these cookies even more! I can't wait to make another batch. These cookies impressed my brother who is critical of everything. All the cookies were gone in two days. Make sure to let the icing cook awhile and if it seems runny, add more sugar. I definitely will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANINEGRANT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
Great cookies - very rich and chocolatey. Make sure cookies are completely cooled before icing or they break apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
This Cookie was very good, but it was too sweet. Next time I would leave out a little sugr in the cookie section of the recipe because the frosting was sweet also. The frosting for this cookie was a horrible recipe I found a much better one: Coconut pecan filling or frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
My husband LOVED these but we thought they were too sweet. I'll definitely cut way down on the sugar in the cookie part next time. the frosting is fine, just don't overcook it, it'll taste like custard if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
While the overall taste of this cookie is pretty good, the texture was crumbly and the addition of the icing was messy. If I make them again, I will probably use actual German Chocolate Cake icing. My husband loves German Chocolate Cake so he enjoyed this cookie but I'll stick to making the cake for now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
I added nuts and coconut to the cookies and omitted the frosting and they came out very good. I also used butter instead of shortening. Next time I'll make them I'll cut down on the sugar and leave out the coconut though, because they are just a bit too sweet for me. They are delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
not bad. i used actual hersheys kisses, not finding any other chocolate to bake with and it still turned out great. did the recipe by hand (no electris mixer) and it still worked. just wished it was more moist and chewy. maybe if i added more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YLUCIANO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
mmmmm~~~~so good! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States