German Chocolate Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This Recipe is so good, I made it for my dad for his birthday and he loved it. It was also the first cake I made from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is a great cake I followed the recipe to the letter. The cake was so moist and the icing was just sweet enough. Although I wasn't sure if there would be enough icing for the whole cake but there was plenty. My husband said it's the best cake I've ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is sooo good. And the directions are easy to follow. This was the very first cake I made from scratch. I made it for my husband's birthday while we were dating. Obviously, this cake does wonders. haha. :D And my whole family LOVED it. The only part I was confused about was trimming it but I'm probably just ditzy so I left it poofy on top. It's still yummy so I guess it doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
BEST CAKE EVER!!! My boyfriend is very picky about his desserts and he absolutely loves it. Very moist and yummy cake!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cubbie_Girl
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This was my first experience making german chocolate cake and the cake and the frosting were amazing. I made it for a friend's birthday party and everyone loved it. Even the people who generally don't like coconut or german chocolate cake said it was awesome. The cake was super moist and the recipe was easy to follow. I will definately be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Light, fluffy, sinfully delicious. The cake was incredible and the frosting was even better. I followed the directions as is, I recommend doing this because there is nothing wrong with it. The cake comes out perfectly. I am going to make this again for sure, but I think I am going to try a layer cake next time. Warning** only make this if you don't mind hearing compliment after compliment after compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this cake for my best friends birthday and I followed the recipe to the T. It turned out great and everyone loved it. Almost the whole cake was gone within a day. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great! Made for a birthday cake as written. Came out perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
YUM! I think this frosting is the best frosting I've ever made! I'll never buy this kind of frosting from a can again. The cake could have been a little more moist, but I was happy with it for my first from-scratch cake. My whole family loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was my first time to make a German Chocolate cake from scratch and it turned out amazing! The birthday boy loved it and so did I. The cake is moist, and the frosting is extra delicious when you toast the coconut and walnuts. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States