German Chocolate Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I have made a better, moister cake following the recipe on the baker's sweet german chocolate package. Everyone said it was great, but I still have half the cake in the fridge. Also a tip to make the frosting way better-toast the coconut and the pecans in the oven for a bit before making the frosting-it's really awesome that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is a great cake I followed the recipe to the letter. The cake was so moist and the icing was just sweet enough. Although I wasn't sure if there would be enough icing for the whole cake but there was plenty. My husband said it's the best cake I've ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This Recipe is so good, I made it for my dad for his birthday and he loved it. It was also the first cake I made from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My first cake from scratch. Pros: Very moist and fluffy. Frosting was great and not too sweet. Cons: cake was not very chocolaty. Nearly couldn't really tell what flavor it was supposed to have. Tips: Be careful when cooking the frosting that you temper your eggs otherwise it will turn out chunky; mine did a little but it's covered up by the addition of the nuts and coconut flakes. I would add more chocolate or use a different kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Light, fluffy, sinfully delicious. The cake was incredible and the frosting was even better. I followed the directions as is, I recommend doing this because there is nothing wrong with it. The cake comes out perfectly. I am going to make this again for sure, but I think I am going to try a layer cake next time. Warning** only make this if you don't mind hearing compliment after compliment after compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Excellent--my family thought it was the best cake they've ever tasted! The prep. time was longer than 25 minutes, since I toasted the coconut and the chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kprete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is sooo good. And the directions are easy to follow. This was the very first cake I made from scratch. I made it for my husband's birthday while we were dating. Obviously, this cake does wonders. haha. :D And my whole family LOVED it. The only part I was confused about was trimming it but I'm probably just ditzy so I left it poofy on top. It's still yummy so I guess it doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this cake for my best friends birthday and I followed the recipe to the T. It turned out great and everyone loved it. Almost the whole cake was gone within a day. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Just excellent! A definate favorite in this house! Becel instead of butter and Partly skimmed evaporated milk worked well ( we have to be heart smart here). I deviated from baking instructions and poured into a greased, floured round cake pan. I don't recommend doing this, you need the waxed paper! I filled the holes with icing, so nobody knew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMac72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Bar None, the best cake I ever had. i didn't think I would like the icing becausee I'm not a fan of the taste of condensed milk, but it was fantastic, and seem ed to get better each day that it lasted. Added to the family recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States