German Chocolate Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I have not had this cake yet but it looks and sounds so good I cant wait to try it. The best thing is is that it is my grandpa's Birthday soon and this is his favorite kind of cake. I would like to tell all that if you get the star bought mix that to make it cholesteriol free use water instead of oil and ONLY egg whites and not the whole egg.The cake will be a little harder to ice so then wait till the next day to eat. So make the cake ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This Recipe is so good, I made it for my dad for his birthday and he loved it. It was also the first cake I made from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is a great cake I followed the recipe to the letter. The cake was so moist and the icing was just sweet enough. Although I wasn't sure if there would be enough icing for the whole cake but there was plenty. My husband said it's the best cake I've ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is sooo good. And the directions are easy to follow. This was the very first cake I made from scratch. I made it for my husband's birthday while we were dating. Obviously, this cake does wonders. haha. :D And my whole family LOVED it. The only part I was confused about was trimming it but I'm probably just ditzy so I left it poofy on top. It's still yummy so I guess it doesn't matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
BEST CAKE EVER!!! My boyfriend is very picky about his desserts and he absolutely loves it. Very moist and yummy cake!! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cubbie_Girl
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This was my first experience making german chocolate cake and the cake and the frosting were amazing. I made it for a friend's birthday party and everyone loved it. Even the people who generally don't like coconut or german chocolate cake said it was awesome. The cake was super moist and the recipe was easy to follow. I will definately be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Light, fluffy, sinfully delicious. The cake was incredible and the frosting was even better. I followed the directions as is, I recommend doing this because there is nothing wrong with it. The cake comes out perfectly. I am going to make this again for sure, but I think I am going to try a layer cake next time. Warning** only make this if you don't mind hearing compliment after compliment after compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this cake for my best friends birthday and I followed the recipe to the T. It turned out great and everyone loved it. Almost the whole cake was gone within a day. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I have made a better, moister cake following the recipe on the baker's sweet german chocolate package. Everyone said it was great, but I still have half the cake in the fridge. Also a tip to make the frosting way better-toast the coconut and the pecans in the oven for a bit before making the frosting-it's really awesome that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great! Made for a birthday cake as written. Came out perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States