German Chocolate Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this cake for my dad's birthday, and it was absolutely amazing! the cake was nice and moist, and the frosting was rich and creamy. I can't say enough how much I loved this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was my first time to make a German Chocolate cake from scratch and it turned out amazing! The birthday boy loved it and so did I. The cake is moist, and the frosting is extra delicious when you toast the coconut and walnuts. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I made this cake for my mother-in-law's birthday and she loved it! It was very moist and had great flavor. It actually tasted better the second day after it had a chance to sit. I didn't change anything on the recipe. I'm sure I will be requested to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My first cake from scratch. Pros: Very moist and fluffy. Frosting was great and not too sweet. Cons: cake was not very chocolaty. Nearly couldn't really tell what flavor it was supposed to have. Tips: Be careful when cooking the frosting that you temper your eggs otherwise it will turn out chunky; mine did a little but it's covered up by the addition of the nuts and coconut flakes. I would add more chocolate or use a different kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
YUM! I think this frosting is the best frosting I've ever made! I'll never buy this kind of frosting from a can again. The cake could have been a little more moist, but I was happy with it for my first from-scratch cake. My whole family loved this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Great! Made for a birthday cake as written. Came out perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I have made a better, moister cake following the recipe on the baker's sweet german chocolate package. Everyone said it was great, but I still have half the cake in the fridge. Also a tip to make the frosting way better-toast the coconut and the pecans in the oven for a bit before making the frosting-it's really awesome that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I made this cake for my best friends birthday and I followed the recipe to the T. It turned out great and everyone loved it. Almost the whole cake was gone within a day. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Light, fluffy, sinfully delicious. The cake was incredible and the frosting was even better. I followed the directions as is, I recommend doing this because there is nothing wrong with it. The cake comes out perfectly. I am going to make this again for sure, but I think I am going to try a layer cake next time. Warning** only make this if you don't mind hearing compliment after compliment after compliment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Rock, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
This was my first experience making german chocolate cake and the cake and the frosting were amazing. I made it for a friend's birthday party and everyone loved it. Even the people who generally don't like coconut or german chocolate cake said it was awesome. The cake was super moist and the recipe was easy to follow. I will definately be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States