German Chocolate Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
These are absolutely delicious! However, a few adjustments need to made to the recipe to make it work. You need to use half of the can of condensed milk with the caramels and the other half with the cake mix. DON'T prepare the cake mix first, use the cake mix like flour for this recipe. And the butter should be melted, not softened. Also, baking it for 15 more minutes instead of 10 results in a more firm bar and not so gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
These are really yummy as-is. However, they are more like turtle brownies. To make them actually taste like german chocolate bars, substitute pecans for the walnuts and add 1 cup of coconut. One point of clarification is needed in the recipe... The cake mix is to be used as flour, not made as directed on the box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACHEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
These bars taste fab!! The cake mix batter is more like the consistency of brownies –I pressed ½ of the mixture in the pan then baked it for 8 minutes. Instead of walnuts, I used pecans and I also added coconut which makes them stick together better. I crumbled the rest of the cake mixture on the top, and then used a piece of wax paper to spread it out a little bit. I also refrigerated them overnight –and brought then to room-temp before serving. Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I absolutely love this recipe. I changed a few things though. I didn't add walnuts and instead of using a 13x9 pan I used a 8 x 11.5 2 quart baking dish instead. I also used a smaller bag of Werther's rather than the 14 ounces of caramels. I used half of the sweetened condensed milk with the cake mix and half of the can with the caramels. When the dessert comes out of the oven it will look like it isn't done. Let it sit for about 2 hours and you're good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2001
I tried making this recipe by following the exact directions; something is missing. Do you make the cake mix as directed on the package first? If so, you should add this to the recipe. If not, it doesn't bake correctly and is all crumbly .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I mAde These Bars for A friend for a VERY big Gathering...Everybody LOVED them. One person at the party kept telling me how great they were, And right away asked for the recipe. I did however change it just a little i added 1/2 a cup of cream and 1/2 cup of water to the cake mix along with the butter and condensed milk otherwise it would have Been really dry.The results were Great..Thanks for Sharing this wonderfull recipe. I am sure it will be used quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Really enjoyed these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
According to my taste-testers (ie my housemates), they were delicious. When I made this, the consistancy of the cake mix was very crumbly and thick. However, I flattened 1/2 of the mix onto a baking pan, cooked as directed, added the carmel mix, sprinkled on chocolate chips, then flattened the remaining cake mix (pref with a rolling pin) and placed it on top (as if it were a sheet). This was sorta makeshift first attempt but it turned out pretty well and stayed together due to the chocolate and carmel. Extremely sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Oh-my-gosh good! These bars are easy but rich and delicious. I will make these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISA B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was way too sweet for my liking. I followed the recipe as written and was disappointed, it just seemed like something was missing...coconut, maybe? I dunno. The consistency of the bars was off to me, too--the sugar was very grainy/crystallized or something. They would probably be better with homemade caramel, but not worth the effort to make again. Looks like I'm outnumbered, which is a first for me on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States