German Chocolate Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Really good treat! Read the review by NENG - hits the nail on the head. Added coconut and pecans to the carmel layer to make it more "german chocolate". If you are going to cut up and serve pieces, definitely bake longer on both steps, like 9 min and 17min - helps it hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Really enjoyed these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
According to my taste-testers (ie my housemates), they were delicious. When I made this, the consistancy of the cake mix was very crumbly and thick. However, I flattened 1/2 of the mix onto a baking pan, cooked as directed, added the carmel mix, sprinkled on chocolate chips, then flattened the remaining cake mix (pref with a rolling pin) and placed it on top (as if it were a sheet). This was sorta makeshift first attempt but it turned out pretty well and stayed together due to the chocolate and carmel. Extremely sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
These were a big hit with the fam! Definitely cook a little longer to hold together better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Wonderful. I used the entire base on the bottom and added coconut on top. Also, I substituted pecans for the walnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is such a great bar cookie! I love chocolate and this does the trick. They are very rich and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefchristabug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enon Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MJ OConnor
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Very rich and tasty. The directions were vague. We melted the caramel in a microwave at 20-second intervals and then drizzled it on. Like others, we added coconut and then decorated the top with additional caramel and coconut. For the second layer of the cake batter, we rolled it between two sheets of wax paper. We added about 10 more minutes to the total baking time. Allow the cake to cool for several hours before cutting to allow it to set, otherwise its too gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I followed the recipe and added coconut to make it more "German". They tasted great I baked them in a 9X9 pan and there still want not enough dough to go on top completely. I ended up with about 3/4 of the pan have the top and bottom presentation worthy. Other then that they were good, too much caramel for me though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
We enjoyed these bars. Added coconut to make them more to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
SO RICH & YUMMY! Caramels were difficult to melt & stir. I added coconut...what's German Chocolate without it??? The cake batter was more like dough than batter and didn't really spread on top of mixture. But overall, worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Chocolate Crinkles II

See how to make chocolate cookies coated in confectioners' sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States