German Chocolate Angel Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
OMG - how awesome to find this recipe here! My Grandma used to make this 45 years ago, and it's always been my favorite. It was either from a magazine or a Baker's recipe pamphlet that she'd had at least since the 1930's or 1940's. I've made this so many times over the years and I can guarantee that it's fabulous! It's really decadent without being overly sweet. The sweetness comes from the meringue shell, which plays perfectly against the rich chocolate filling, when made as written. If you substitute Cool Whip it will be a much sweeter pie and have a much different texture as the whipped cream is what dictates the firmness of the filling. Whip the cream until very stiff and the consistency will be that of a sturdy mousse. This is a wonderful pie exactly as written, and is delicious without embellishments. The ONLY other suggestion I would make is to try using a non-stick pie pan, as I've had touble in the past with the meringue sticking to the pie dish (could just be our darned St. Louis humidity!); I thought about greasing and flouring the dish, as one does for cakes, but wasn't sure if that would work with the meringue or not. All in all though, excellent recipe. Thanks so much, Marcia, for submitting this, so I'll never have to worry about losing it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This dessert has a light airy crust and intense chocolate filling. Let it sit a day before serving or the meringue may be chewy instead of soft. I used cool whip instead of the cream and topped it with additional cool whip, pecans, and toasted coconut. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
The crust shrunk, I went up the sides, need to mound higher than the sides. I used fat free cool whip and it was yummy! Very chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
It was pretty good but, we didn't crazy about toping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbv239
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Just like grandma used to make. This has got to be the best pie ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
My favorite!!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENAJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Fabulous fluffy chocolate pie after a big Thanksgiving meal. It was a huge hit with my family (the only pie totally consumed). Highly recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
As a family recipe...this is still the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
My family used to make this pie every year for Passover, because it's borderline Kosher. ;) We got it from an early edition of the New York Times cook book- I think from the mid-1960's. The NYT book recommends unsweetened chocolate for the filling, which I prefer; it gives a more smooth, complex flavor to offset the sweetness of the other ingredients. Also, for some reason it recommends using room-temperature eggs for best results. Dunno why but I don't mess with success! Make sure you beat the meringue until it's in VERY stiff peaks- otherwise it'll settle to the bottom of the pie tin and it may cook unevenly. Pile it up around the edges so you have a real crust, not just a flat thing. The filling is easy, you just have to make sure you don't burn the chocolate- leave the burner on low and stir frequently until it's all melted. I also like to add a bit of vanilla to the whipped cream. You can let this sit in the refrigerator as long as you like; just cover it so it doesn't dry out. Also, keep it chilled until you serve it, because the filling melts! It's still tasty, but it's more like pudding that way. I'm baking this for a pie-themed party tomorrow and am anticipating much ooh-ing and ahh-ing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crystalwingz24
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Both my grandmother & mother made this pie. I was so thrilled to find this recipe so now I can carry on the tradition. It is a very delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalwingz24

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States