German Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Sounds weird but it's a new family favorite. I'd suggest sticking with standard kraut (not Bavarian) or it could easily get too sweet. If using frozen chicken breast use the cooking directions on the package but layer as per the directions here. Excess barbecue sauce gives a mellow smoky sweet taste to the kraut. Drain the kraut first so you get a nice blend of flavors instead of a puddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2000
This dish is marvelous!! A breeze to put together and the kraut is abolutely delicious with that barbque suace simmered into it. I did have to cook this for about 50 minutes though for the chicken to get done. Maybe I used thicker breasts. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mundelein, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was better than I thought it would be. The only thing I would change (and this is just for our own taste) is that the BBQ sauce I used was pretty strong so I might go with something milder next time. Something on the sweet side as opposed to the heavy smokey side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Awesome, awesome, AWESOME! I added onions and potatoes as well and this was so good. It is a quick and easy meal that will be cooked again at my house VERY soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmieLou1499

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made this exactly as directed using Bullseye barbeque sauce and doubling the recipe. Awesome! I would not change a thing. Thanks for sharing, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
My husband loved this, and I love how easy it is to make -- but I can't help wishing there was a little *more* to it. Some vegetables or something. I think I'll experiment with other ingredients the next time I make it. (But I will make it again; it got enthusiastic thumbs up from the fam.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
This reminded me (just a little) of Polish "Kapusta", which is a sweet and sour flavored cooked cabbage (minus the tomato base of bbq sauce). With this recipe however, the flavor varies a lot, depending on the bbq sauce you use. The chicken was good but I like much better with a Polish sausage or Bratwurst and homemade-type noodles (frozen "Reames" brand are excellent)with some of the sauce. This was easier than making "Kapusta" so I might experiment with different bbq sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
My husband loved this!! He'd give it 10 stars if he could... of course he is a big fan of the kraut!!! He said he would even like it without the chicken!! I, on the other hand, am not a big fan of it...but the bar-b-q sauce changes it for the better.. i also drained my kraut well.... I think this is important... I think it would be too runny.. used honey b-b-q sauce... Most importantly.. it doesnt get any easier... served with "healthy" baked beans and "lighter" mashed potatoes...oh yeah and I did not cover thinking again of it becoming runny.. the kraut was "thick" and carmelized.. it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
This recipe was good in flavor, but I ended up having to microwave it at the end because the chicken wasn't done! I'm not sure what went wrong. Maybe next time I'll pound out the chicken breasts before I put them in the oven. -Allison
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I was skeptical about this recipe but had all ingredients on hand and it seemed to easy to not at least try. It's a hit! The house smelled like a BBQ joint and my husband loved it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States