German Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Excellent taste. What a combo, my husband loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This really easy, which is a huge plus. The 30 minutes baking time sounded short , so I put it in for 50 minutes and timed my side dishes accordingly. The chicken was still not done, so I was a little annoyed. I put it in longer rather than microwave. Next time I will buy thin chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
My family loved this... I did however add green, red and yellow peppers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dnisey64
Home Town: Markham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Absolutely loved it. Served it over mashed potatioes with a side of green beans. Very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Weaver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Sounds weird but it's a new family favorite. I'd suggest sticking with standard kraut (not Bavarian) or it could easily get too sweet. If using frozen chicken breast use the cooking directions on the package but layer as per the directions here. Excess barbecue sauce gives a mellow smoky sweet taste to the kraut. Drain the kraut first so you get a nice blend of flavors instead of a puddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This was fantastic!! I used chicken tenderloins rather than the brests and it worked out well. I also added some crubmled bacon bites to the kraut and it gave it an extra smoky flavor which we loved. So easy to prepare and the flavor pairing of the bbq and the kraut was surprisingly excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Weirded out by the recipe, but on reflection, most BBQ sauces have a lot of vinegar or other acidic flavorings. So I tried it, adding a bottom layer of sliced russets, sprinkled with red onion. It was OK. I probably would have forgotten it, but my supermaket had a closeout on giardinere and I had a flash--German chicken with giardinere! I layered sliced Red Bliss (russets got mushy), slivered serranos, giardinere, some sauerkraut and packed in as many spicy turkey sausages and chicken breasts as I could; poured on some KC BBQ sauce. Covered and baked 1 hour. Uncovered for 15 minutes to brown the meat. FANTASTIC! We ate the vegs and a little bit of the meat for the first meal. Had succulent and beautifully flavored braised chicken and sausages: last night's supper (with roasted veg); salad, pasta, sandwiches, hash; and there's still one last piece of sausage destined to be a salad wrap in my brown bag tomorrow. You've heard of German Measles? I've got German (Chicken) Fever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I wanted to try this as I never had chicken with sauerkraut before. Unfortunately, we didn't care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Nice change from my marinated chicken recipes, but I'm just not in love with sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flanders, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was better than I thought it would be. The only thing I would change (and this is just for our own taste) is that the BBQ sauce I used was pretty strong so I might go with something milder next time. Something on the sweet side as opposed to the heavy smokey side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States