German Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
The BBQ sauce is critical here. I used a type without any corn syrup. (All "natural", blah, blah, blah) The flavor of the 3 simple ingredients is wonderful! I added sliced carrots right on top of the dish, but wouldn't do that again. They came out too "crisp" still after baking and didn't have that wonderful roasted flavor baking usually gives them. The vinegar in the kraut really made my chicken tender and tasty - surprisingly tender. I baked the 13x9 dish covered with foil for an hour and a half. So you can see my disappointment with the carrots not coming out softer. Great recipe I will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This tasted bad - we love sauerkraut and BBQ so decided to try this recipe out. The flavor was just not good. My teenage son, which will eat just about anything asked me NEVER to make this again. I followed the exact recipe except for adding some chopped onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I love sauerkraut so next time I will add more and cut down on the chicken. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
A hit at my house. I layered sliced, canned potatoes first, then the kraut and chicken. I used boneless thighs instead of breasts. If you are not a sauerkraut lover, try rinsing it before you use it - takes away some of the sour flavor. Thanks for a great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Lyons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Very tasty. Like others, I had to cook much longer...over 1 hour probably due to thickness of the chicken breasts I used. I also added a layer of sliced onions and sliced baby red potatoes on the bottom before adding sauerkraut. I used Jack Daniels original recipe BBQ sauce and it was a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Five stars for simplicity, five stars for tastiness, and five stars for acceptance by the family. Husband went for seconds and leftovers the next day. The four chicken breast halves I had were huge so it took longer to cook and would have fed eight. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by herddog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I think the taste of this depends a LOT on what kind of sauerkraut and BBQ sauce you get. The combination we had was pretty potent, and not great. I may try again with different sauce or kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jcas
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. This was the first time I've ever tried sauerkraut and I was pleasantly surprised. I added red potato's and onion, as mentioned in another review and it was great. My wife really liked the meal too. Definately will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I was skeptical about this recipe but had all ingredients on hand and it seemed to easy to not at least try. It's a hit! The house smelled like a BBQ joint and my husband loved it. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made this exactly as directed using Bullseye barbeque sauce and doubling the recipe. Awesome! I would not change a thing. Thanks for sharing, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States