German Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
YUMMY, QUICK, EASY. Boyfriend loved it. I did too. SO SIMPLE to throw together and VERY flavorful! I used extra bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmInMontana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I was skeptical about this recipe but it turned out really good with a Very unique flavor combo. I drained my 16oz package of sauerkraut (thanks to reviews!). Used about 1/2 cup of spicey bbq sauce ontop of two small chicken breasts.. Cooked in an ungreased, 13" dia ceramic dish (with lid) @ 350' for 75min. Thankfully had no issues with the cabbage burning onto the bottom or sides (one of my concerns). Wish the recipe had been written with a BIT more detail, but overall it's SO easy and tastes great - 5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This one was certainly a surprise! We loved it, and considering how easy it was, it rates 5 stars in my book. Followed the recipe exactly, but took the suggetion of another reviewer and added diced sweet potato around the edges of the dish. A very easy weeknight meal...just add a green salad or a green veggie and you're all set. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eecaule
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is a great weeknight meal, so easy to prepare! I'm not nuts about boneless, skinless chicken breasts but adding BBQ sauce and sauerkraut definately makes them less blah. I only did two breasts and used a 16 oz. package of drained kraut and it worked out great. Also, I did not measure the sauce; just added a thick layer of Sweet Baby Ray's. Mashed potatoes on the side is a must! I'll add this to my rotation as the ingredients are inexpensive and easy to keep on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eecaule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I liked how the flavors of everything went together. We added some red pepper flakes and it turned into a sweet and spicy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This was very tangy and the barbecue sauce was mellow. I used Bullseye sauce and Bavarian sauerkraut. I thought this was okay but not something I would prefer to have again while my DH didn't like it at all. It wasn't bad, it just didn't suit us. I enjoyed trying out a new recipe though and a new dish, so thank you for a nice change from our norm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I wanted to like it! I used honey BBQ as others advised. Not even mashed potatoes could save it. I guess I don't like the combo with sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
The BBQ sauce is critical here. I used a type without any corn syrup. (All "natural", blah, blah, blah) The flavor of the 3 simple ingredients is wonderful! I added sliced carrots right on top of the dish, but wouldn't do that again. They came out too "crisp" still after baking and didn't have that wonderful roasted flavor baking usually gives them. The vinegar in the kraut really made my chicken tender and tasty - surprisingly tender. I baked the 13x9 dish covered with foil for an hour and a half. So you can see my disappointment with the carrots not coming out softer. Great recipe I will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyBarbieri
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This tasted bad - we love sauerkraut and BBQ so decided to try this recipe out. The flavor was just not good. My teenage son, which will eat just about anything asked me NEVER to make this again. I followed the exact recipe except for adding some chopped onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I love sauerkraut so next time I will add more and cut down on the chicken. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States