German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I modified this recipe for my bread machine. I halfed the yeast, sugar, water, salt and flour. They turned out yummy but lacked the overall crusty texture I was looking for. I am going to try to get a pan that has holes in it to bake it next time...I used a stone this time. I really want this to work as we love German Brotchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was the first time I have ever baked my own bread without the help of a breadmaker. I forgot that they would grow on the cookie sheet while I waited to bake them.....so we had some very very large brotchen rolls. We all loved the bread and I will make it again remembering that I need to make the dough pieces about half the size that I actually want. I also used a baking stone for the ice....(bad move) It broke from the extreme temps =(. Yes I'm still in the learning stage. SO 5 stars for the recipe....3 stars for the cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Thanks for the great recipe. I made them today and found it quite easy. I had a hard time waiting for them to come out of the oven. The Brotchen and a cup of Jacobs coffee took me back to Germany. I will be making this recipe from now on when I want fresh rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This recipe is wunderbar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This was my first attempt at baking any type bread from scratch. It looks wonderful. The texture is great. All seems right until you taste it. Maybe I just don't know how German Brotchen is suppose to taste. Not bad tasting, just kind of no taste at all. I think I will continue with my new quest of baking bread though. I was fun!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I made these rolls they are so good. My mother in law is from Germany and has made rolls over the years and made rolls like these and I have tryed to make them like hers but was not able to until I found this receipe it is so close to her roll receipe. I am so glad I found it. My mother in law is not able to bake any more due to her poor eye sight, now I can make her rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
this was my first time making bread and boy did it take forever! still good but i think i might stick to store bought bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I have made these rolls twice now. They are a little more work then some, but worth the effort. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, New Jersey, USA
Living In: South Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This recipe tasted nothing like the Broetchen that I lived on in Germany. They rolls themselves were not bad - my family polished them off in two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This was a fantastic recipe! I loved it; like having a butter boat! =) My family likes soft rolls though and so, I won't make too often seeing as not too many get eaten by anyone but myself. However, I fed them to extended family and neighbors who ate them with enthusiam. Kudos to Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States