German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I believe I made this recipe exactly as specified, and while it results in very good rolls, they taste nothing like the brotchen my husband and I remember from living in Germany and Switzerland. The crust is similar, but the insides were much more dense. I played around and let rolls sit out in bun form to rise for different times, and the longer I let them rise (i.e. 8+ hours) the airier the insides became but still quite unlike brotchen in both texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I've never made bread before so I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into. I was surprised how easy this recipe was and I followed the directions exactly. My husband travels to Germany for business and was missing his brotchen. He said they were just like he remembered and couldn't wait to go to work today to tell some of his fellow travelers what he had for dinner last night!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rotterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I love making brothchen. When my husband was stationed in Germany, the children would trade fresh brotchen for MREs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My husband is German and living in the States he misses wonderful German bakeries. I have now made these 4 times for him and they have always turned out wonderfully and he LOVES them! He says they taste just like home. Doubling the recipe works perfectly for large groups (i.e. Thanksgiving). Just be sure to eat them within 3-5 days after making them or they start to mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made these for my daughter's German language class. Make sure you have a few hours to devote to making these. As with any recipe make sure you read all directions before you begin. Good rolls, especially right out of the oven, but I've never had Brotchen before, so I cannot compare them to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeFS
Living In: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
The BEST rolls EVER!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAXFIELDTHEGREAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
super! they were gone w/in 3 hours with my 4 kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I modified this recipe for my bread machine. I halfed the yeast, sugar, water, salt and flour. They turned out yummy but lacked the overall crusty texture I was looking for. I am going to try to get a pan that has holes in it to bake it next time...I used a stone this time. I really want this to work as we love German Brotchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This was the first time I have ever baked my own bread without the help of a breadmaker. I forgot that they would grow on the cookie sheet while I waited to bake them.....so we had some very very large brotchen rolls. We all loved the bread and I will make it again remembering that I need to make the dough pieces about half the size that I actually want. I also used a baking stone for the ice....(bad move) It broke from the extreme temps =(. Yes I'm still in the learning stage. SO 5 stars for the recipe....3 stars for the cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Thanks for the great recipe. I made them today and found it quite easy. I had a hard time waiting for them to come out of the oven. The Brotchen and a cup of Jacobs coffee took me back to Germany. I will be making this recipe from now on when I want fresh rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States