German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I have been looking for a recipe like since I left Germany. This is close as you will ever get to being in Germany. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I've never had these rolls in Germany, so I have nothing to compare them to. However, I do like the crunchy outside and soft inside. Very good! For those of you who are leary of the ice step, the reason for the ice is so the outside will become crispy like a French baguette. These rolls rise A LOT during baking--didn't rise that much before baking, but really rose wonderfully during baking. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I made this recipe twice and the rolls turned out the same..... more like biscuits and nothing like the broetchen that I've grown up with in Germany. They were way too dense inside. Oh well. I'm still searching for that *one* recipe......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISS ALIX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I believe I made this recipe exactly as specified, and while it results in very good rolls, they taste nothing like the brotchen my husband and I remember from living in Germany and Switzerland. The crust is similar, but the insides were much more dense. I played around and let rolls sit out in bun form to rise for different times, and the longer I let them rise (i.e. 8+ hours) the airier the insides became but still quite unlike brotchen in both texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I've never made bread before so I wasn't sure what I was getting myself into. I was surprised how easy this recipe was and I followed the directions exactly. My husband travels to Germany for business and was missing his brotchen. He said they were just like he remembered and couldn't wait to go to work today to tell some of his fellow travelers what he had for dinner last night!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rotterdam, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I love making brothchen. When my husband was stationed in Germany, the children would trade fresh brotchen for MREs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
My husband is German and living in the States he misses wonderful German bakeries. I have now made these 4 times for him and they have always turned out wonderfully and he LOVES them! He says they taste just like home. Doubling the recipe works perfectly for large groups (i.e. Thanksgiving). Just be sure to eat them within 3-5 days after making them or they start to mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made these for my daughter's German language class. Make sure you have a few hours to devote to making these. As with any recipe make sure you read all directions before you begin. Good rolls, especially right out of the oven, but I've never had Brotchen before, so I cannot compare them to the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneeFS
Living In: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
The BEST rolls EVER!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAXFIELDTHEGREAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
super! they were gone w/in 3 hours with my 4 kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States