German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2000
Great recipe..... best one I found so far. I'm originally from germany and the Broetchen are one of the things my kids and I miss a lot. But not anymore... thanks to this great recipe :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2000
Outstanding recipe. Tastes exactly like the ones my Opa used to get at the bakery every morning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
WE LIVED IN GERMANY FOR THREE YEARS & HAVE FINALLY FOUND A RECIPE FOR BROTHCHEN THAT TASTE LIKE THE ONES FROM GERMANY & A GERMAN BAKERY IN THE U.S. WE'VE HAD THEM FROM. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
These are a great roll. They aren't as good as other Brotchen that I've had but, all and all they are good. The family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
when I made this bread, my friend had them all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
Baking time seemed to be to long. Otherwise tasted good. Most German Brotchen I have had are round not oval.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Authentic and delicious! Just like the ones my family use to get in Germany. Light, chewy middle and firm but not tough crust. Dough was light and easy to handle. I served them at a small dinner party, and my friends loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satellite Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2001
These were very easy to make, considering it was my first attempt at making any kind of bread! Mine did come out huge, though. They're great fresh out of the oven with honey butter, and really good sliced and toasted the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I have been searching many websites for authentic texture of german brotchen. It is obvious many have not tried the real thing. This recipe is as close as I have come, the texture is correct. Now I just have to shape them correctly, and get the right crust. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Definetly took a while, but it was worth it. Had lots of my German friends come over and everyone loved it and said it tasted just like German Brotchen. Made 33, had 10 guests, and all the rolls were gone at the end of the evening. Just make sure you put the eggwash on just a second before putting them into the oven. Any earlier and they won't turn out very shiny. A++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States