German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This was a fantastic recipe! I loved it; like having a butter boat! =) My family likes soft rolls though and so, I won't make too often seeing as not too many get eaten by anyone but myself. However, I fed them to extended family and neighbors who ate them with enthusiam. Kudos to Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
These were really good! I recommend these if you live in the States and can´t get your hand on German brotchen. But I have to say they were in my opinion a lot of work. You better have a lot of free time on your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela in Germany

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Georgetown, Illinois, USA
Living In: Borken, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This is a fair recipe. It's not quite like the one's we get in Germany, but my German husband finds them an okay substitute (this is a big compliment from him!). The taste does seem a tad bit too yeast-like, as someone else mentioned. The texture is very good too. I suggest using butter instead of shortening, unless you are on a restrictive diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I am German and these Rolls are far from the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
just came back from Germany ,and this is the real thing. everyone just loves them the best ever. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strabane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
My husband is from Germany and gets home-sick at times. He often complains about Canadian buns... they are just not the same. So, to save myself having to hear the complaints, I tried this recipe. He was shocked! They are just like German buns. Now he eats them every morning with salami. I love them too! And they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Wonderful flavor. Mine didn't rise much in the last rising but I think the error was mine. Great with soups or lunch meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Washington, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
These were very good. My brother told me they tasted like rolls. Very much unlike the fresh brotchen we get from our bakery in town. Maybe it was because I cut the recipe in half or did'nt let them rise enough, I dont know. Maybe next time?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Well I've never had one of these before now, but they were great. I LOOVED the crunchy crust and soft inside. The flavor is very different...sort of like sourdough maybe. I didn't change anything in this recipe and they came out great. Perfect for making sandwhiches out of, or eating straigh from the oven (or both:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Grannie would be proud. They were in a word, PERFECT. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States