German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
These were really good! I recommend these if you live in the States and can´t get your hand on German brotchen. But I have to say they were in my opinion a lot of work. You better have a lot of free time on your hands!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela in Germany

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Georgetown, Illinois, USA
Living In: Borken, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
This is a fair recipe. It's not quite like the one's we get in Germany, but my German husband finds them an okay substitute (this is a big compliment from him!). The taste does seem a tad bit too yeast-like, as someone else mentioned. The texture is very good too. I suggest using butter instead of shortening, unless you are on a restrictive diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I am German and these Rolls are far from the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
just came back from Germany ,and this is the real thing. everyone just loves them the best ever. thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strabane, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
My husband is from Germany and gets home-sick at times. He often complains about Canadian buns... they are just not the same. So, to save myself having to hear the complaints, I tried this recipe. He was shocked! They are just like German buns. Now he eats them every morning with salami. I love them too! And they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
Wonderful flavor. Mine didn't rise much in the last rising but I think the error was mine. Great with soups or lunch meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Washington, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
These were very good. My brother told me they tasted like rolls. Very much unlike the fresh brotchen we get from our bakery in town. Maybe it was because I cut the recipe in half or did'nt let them rise enough, I dont know. Maybe next time?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
Well I've never had one of these before now, but they were great. I LOOVED the crunchy crust and soft inside. The flavor is very different...sort of like sourdough maybe. I didn't change anything in this recipe and they came out great. Perfect for making sandwhiches out of, or eating straigh from the oven (or both:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Grannie would be proud. They were in a word, PERFECT. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
My dad was stationed the in army in Germany when I was growing up and I have missed the brotchen! These were very good! I followed the recipe as is, but I did mist water over the tops of them a couple of times while cooking. We grilled bratwurst and ate them on the brotchen! It was just like we were in Germany! I am going to make sandwhiches out of the rest and freeze them to save for later! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States