German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
My husband loves brotchen and he says these tasted just like the ones he had as a child in Germany! It was my first time making bread of any kind but it was worth the time and effort since they turned out so nice. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
The best German rolls I have ever had in the USA! I'm German and have lived here for over 16 years, these are the best rolls outside of Germany :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ursula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
absolutely outstanding. thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontonagon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I had never had brotchen before, but my bf requested it once I started making breads. He said they taste exactly the way he remembers. These are now my staple dinner rolls, so YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nosygirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cameron Park, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Very delicious! The smell of them coming out of the oven instantly brings back childhood memories of Germany. We have been eating these for breakfast for a few days now. Few suggestions: Start early, be sure to let the final rise really go as long as possible and be sure to slice the tops (very sharp knife) as you add the egg wash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ringo
Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I wasn't at all pleased with the flavor until..I put them in the freezer and brought them out and heated them for dinner the next night. They were delicious, crusty, flavorful. I will make these again and again. Labor intensive, the flavor is worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pdub
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Perfect! Took all day. But worth it. It tastes awesome and it was my first time executing this recipe. Can't wait to master it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pdub

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
We just got back from Germany and were determined to have Brotchen bread. I followed the recipe exactly, and also took the advice of another reviewer to cut/slice the tops before brushing on the egg/milk mixture. They look and taste like the real deal. We plan on making a batch more often to have traditional German dinner fare, complete with meats and cheeses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
THANK YOU!!!! When I was little and we visited my grandmother in Germany, we'd get fresh rolls for breakfast in the morning. They were unbelievably chewy on the inside and crackly on the outside, JUST LIKE THESE - delicious slathered with butter and honey. I never found anything like them in the states. Thank you SO MUCH for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
I have been looking for a recipe like since I left Germany. This is close as you will ever get to being in Germany. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States