German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I followed this recipe to the letter of the law and they turned out PERFECTLY! Excellent for sandwiches, rolls, or just straight out of the oven with butter. If you use a dark pan, I would suggest reducing cooking time so as to not overcook>*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
They turned out great! Just for breakfast this morning I had one warmed with nutella like I used to when I was growing up in Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROJAMIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
I REALLY wanted these to taste like the rolls my "Oma" would walk to pick up every morning at her town bakery when we visited her in Germany...but I was sad that they didn't. They were okay...but definitely not like the brotchens I remember. I did the ice in the water trick, but the crust still wasn't like the crisp crusts in Germany. They were good rolls...but I didn't think they tasted close to authentic German brotchens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I am German, and these rolls are the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very wonderful recipe. The rolls turned out just perfect, but it takes a lot of patience and time for a great outcome. Well worth the time spent. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This recipie is much too good. - After longing for some real German Brotchen we decided to make our own. - We overkilled on brotchen, butter and jam. - Don't make this recipie unless you have a lot of willpower. -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
These were wondeful rolls, a nice flavor! I made them for my father-in-law who is German and he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
These are on request CONSTANTLY! What a great recipe and is the closest I have found to the "real deal" as far as a brotchen recipe is concerned. I've been through a ton of them and since getting them here where I am is Impossible the only thing I can do is make my own. =) THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
these were soooooo good! My family loved them. It was not easy, but then again, it was my first time making bread. Thanks for such a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANKYJO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I'm German and these are awesome. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States