German Brotchen Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
They turned out great! Just for breakfast this morning I had one warmed with nutella like I used to when I was growing up in Germany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROJAMIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
I REALLY wanted these to taste like the rolls my "Oma" would walk to pick up every morning at her town bakery when we visited her in Germany...but I was sad that they didn't. They were okay...but definitely not like the brotchens I remember. I did the ice in the water trick, but the crust still wasn't like the crisp crusts in Germany. They were good rolls...but I didn't think they tasted close to authentic German brotchens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I am German, and these rolls are the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very wonderful recipe. The rolls turned out just perfect, but it takes a lot of patience and time for a great outcome. Well worth the time spent. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
This recipie is much too good. - After longing for some real German Brotchen we decided to make our own. - We overkilled on brotchen, butter and jam. - Don't make this recipie unless you have a lot of willpower. -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
These were wondeful rolls, a nice flavor! I made them for my father-in-law who is German and he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
These are on request CONSTANTLY! What a great recipe and is the closest I have found to the "real deal" as far as a brotchen recipe is concerned. I've been through a ton of them and since getting them here where I am is Impossible the only thing I can do is make my own. =) THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
these were soooooo good! My family loved them. It was not easy, but then again, it was my first time making bread. Thanks for such a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKANKYJO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
I'm German and these are awesome. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
These rolls are the very best you can make at home. The ice in the oven makes the crust just like a bakery. I will make this again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States