German Beef Rouladen Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I added pickles to the rolls. DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I am born in Germany, but lived most of my 80 years in Canada. Rouladen meat is normally tough and dry, but full of flavour. In order to cope with dry meats, particularly venison, Germans usually add fat bacon in slices or wedges. I do not particularly care for bacon unless it is lean, crisp and drained of most fat. Thus I devised my own filling. I use approximately equal parts by weight of diced, preferably old, cheddar or similar, a diced hard boiled egg and diced fresh onions. I prepare this a day ahead by sauteing the onions golden brown, then add the cheese and eggs, stir it all until it forms a nice goo and let it cool to be used the next day. The next day I spread some Dijon mustard on the meat, my goo over that, add a thin slice of pickles, roll it all up (folding in the ends of the rolls) and secure it. This is a lot of work and I cannot be bothered to do that often. Accordingly I prepare a whole badge of these things, set aside those earmarked for immediate consumption, wrap the rest individually in saran and freeze them. The ones set aside, should be prepared as in this recipe, but simmered for AT LEAST 1½ hours. As I said rouladen meat is generally tough and you want it to "melt in your mouth". Oh, and another note: If you decide to go the route of my filling, make lots of it. Anything left over can be used as spread or condiment for all kinds of dishes. Good Luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Having grown up German (and Polish), I have enjoyed my Grandmother's recipe many times--it's a favorite! This one is very close...but we always add the pickle in the middle. Served with potato dumplings and red cabbage with apples. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
so looking for something simple and different this solved the problem, easy and tasted great. Do not care for the pickle either part so this served well with mashed potatoes and a veggie side dish. Only thing I added which I do to everything was a generous sprinkle of granulated garlic. yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Turcotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
I make mine with the pickle and I season with marjoram, after painting with djon mustard. I brown in bacon drippings and bake in oven at 350 for about 1 hour. It comes out so tender you can cut it with a fork. I bake it in a brown gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was great! I added more onion just because we like a lot. I got my beef from the German store so it was already flattened out for this dish. I did not use the sour cream. I doubled the gravy and instead of adding all water I did 1/4 red cooking wine and the rest water. So yummy. I did have a little bit of a hard time browning all sides with toothpicks in it but did manage to keep it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was AWESOME! I wrapped some of them with olives since not all the kids like pickles...I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This Rouladen recipe is my go-to recipe because it's simple to execute and change up, which I do. I use diced pickle in addition to the onion because that's what my German MIL does. I serve with Spaetzle or Knödel and some veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Absolutely the best dish from this website I've ever made and enjoyed! Very delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
My husband and I loved this dish! We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

How to Make Classic Beef Stroganoff

Watch Chef John prepare his secret recipe for creamy beef stroganoff.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States