German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This was great! While it was cooking I warmed up some strawberries, bananas, & pineapple in a non-stick skillet with a 1 tbl. butter & 1/4 cup brown sugar. Topped the servings of the "pancake" with that and then added some light whipped cream sprinkled with cinnamon. The only suggestion I would have would be to use unsalted butter. The salted butter gave it more of a savory taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZEROGIRL42
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Yummy! Better than the restaurant that serves this by my house. I had a craving for a German Apple (it's a German Baby with apples), but I didn't want to have to go out. I substitued for what I had in my kitchen: Smart Balance for butter, soy milk for regular milk, and a square, 8.5" pan. I think the soy milk made it fluff up more. It was all fluff actually (no custardy center). The only thing I would change is to use a non-stick pan. I did the traditional lemon, maple, powdered-sugar topping. It was delicious. I submitted some photos. Next time I may add some granny-smith apples sliced thinly to the bottom of the pan to get the German Apple taste. I just didn't want to experiment too much the first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Very yummy! I added 1/3 C pecan pieces. This is a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
Yummy! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was very yummy! I added some sugar and a dash of vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. There was a diner that used to serve this dish in my hometown. Every time we went I would order this. I was so excited to find a recipe for it. It tastes just like I remember! I ate the whole thing myself, and then had to make another one for my boyfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orting, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
MMMM! I used to eat this at a friend's house when I was little. We called it "baby dutch," but it is the same delicious dish. I like to squeeze fresh lime or lemon juice over the top before sprinkling the powdered sugar on for a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was gooood... I topped this with flambeed bananas and toasted walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is an AWESOME recipe. Its perfect with lemon and powdered sugar. I didn't have a cast iron skillet, I just used a 9" square cake pan and it turned out great. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Really fast, easy and not too sweet. I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. Great with sweeened fruit on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This was FANTASTIC! I have to admit that after readingthe reviews I did add the vanilla and a bit of powdered sugar to the batter. I melted the butter in a heavy duty nonstick cake pan and then added the batter and out into a hot oven. Rose beautifully! I liked it with lemon and powdered sugar and also homemade hot maple syrup. My husband liked it with just the syrup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States