German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Really fast, easy and not too sweet. I added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla. Great with sweeened fruit on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
This is great! A memory from my childhood of a restaurant breakfast treat where they called it a "Dutch Baby". My cast iron skillet is only 9" rather than 10" so I ended up having to add about 7 more minutes to the baking time to compensate for the batter being less spread out in the smaller pan. I would have found the eggy-ness VERY unappealing if I'd taken it out at 20 minutes! The edges didn't burn, so it worked out fine. After cooking, I filled the pancake with cooked pork link sausages and sauteed apples with lemon wedges, maple syrup and powdered sugar on the side. It made a quick and different easy dinner. I think the batter could have used a speck of salt to it, but that is my only complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was very yummy! I added some sugar and a dash of vanilla and cinnamon to the batter. There was a diner that used to serve this dish in my hometown. Every time we went I would order this. I was so excited to find a recipe for it. It tastes just like I remember! I ate the whole thing myself, and then had to make another one for my boyfriend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orting, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
MMMM! I used to eat this at a friend's house when I was little. We called it "baby dutch," but it is the same delicious dish. I like to squeeze fresh lime or lemon juice over the top before sprinkling the powdered sugar on for a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This was great! While it was cooking I warmed up some strawberries, bananas, & pineapple in a non-stick skillet with a 1 tbl. butter & 1/4 cup brown sugar. Topped the servings of the "pancake" with that and then added some light whipped cream sprinkled with cinnamon. The only suggestion I would have would be to use unsalted butter. The salted butter gave it more of a savory taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZEROGIRL42
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Yummy! Better than the restaurant that serves this by my house. I had a craving for a German Apple (it's a German Baby with apples), but I didn't want to have to go out. I substitued for what I had in my kitchen: Smart Balance for butter, soy milk for regular milk, and a square, 8.5" pan. I think the soy milk made it fluff up more. It was all fluff actually (no custardy center). The only thing I would change is to use a non-stick pan. I did the traditional lemon, maple, powdered-sugar topping. It was delicious. I submitted some photos. Next time I may add some granny-smith apples sliced thinly to the bottom of the pan to get the German Apple taste. I just didn't want to experiment too much the first time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was gooood... I topped this with flambeed bananas and toasted walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is an AWESOME recipe. Its perfect with lemon and powdered sugar. I didn't have a cast iron skillet, I just used a 9" square cake pan and it turned out great. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Well, I guess this turned out like it was supposed to. I served it w/ sweetened strawberries, lemon, and maple syrup and we weren't too impressed. I won't make this again. The recipe turned out like it was supposed to I think. I made it because I thought it looked neat and tasty, but since I have never had it before, it's hard to rate based on any comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Very yummy! I added 1/3 C pecan pieces. This is a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States