German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is basically what you call a Yorkshire Pudding in the UK.It is made without the sugar and served with roast beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I make this in the fall the day we pick apples. Come home, peel and slice the apples, cook them with butter, cinnamon & sugar and put that over the "pancake". Been a family tradition with my girls and now with our grandchildren!! It makes a wonderful fall dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Delicate and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I've been making this for years, my mother made it when I was a child and my kids make it for their kids. We always ate it with lots of powdered sugar and lemon juice squeezed over it. The trick to getting it big and puffy is to make sure the skillet (I use a 10" pie pan) with the butter is sizzling hot and pour the batter in right away and put it right back in the oven. The batter should start pulling away from the sides of the pan as soon as it's poured in, that's how hot it needs to be. Don't lower the temperature, cook it at 425 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazylazycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This has quickly become a family weekend favorite!! I do add vanilla. Tip, whip eggs before adding milk and whip eggs and milk before adding flour. It rises better and turns out more spongey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
only reason this wasn't a high review is that the butter ran over the edge and made a mess in the oven, it tasted wonderful. On the second attempt (which is in the oven now) I cut the butter in half and used almond flour, we will see : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Great recipe! I divided it into muffin tins for little individual servings and baked at 400 for 15 minutes. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
added cinnamon and sugar like most people suggested... topped it with powdered sugar, it definitely hit the spot! This will probably be one of my new family recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug1121

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This is delicious. I tried this out one weekend, and my family loved it (including husband and all 4 kids aged 5 - 11). I made it the very next weekend again for company that included adults and kids of various ages. Everybody loved it! The only change I made to the recipe was to add a dash of vanilla after adding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
When I lived in Portland Oregon I made this recipe quite a few times and it always turned out perfect. Recently we moved to Arizona, and I have made it twice and both times it didn't rise at all...looked more like flat cornbread. I'm sure the change in altitude (going from 500 to 3500 feet) has something to do with it. Does anyone have any tips about making this at a higher altitude?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dutch Baby

See how to make quick, easy, impressive Dutch babies.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Dutch Babies II

See how to make these delicious and impressive brunch treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States