German Baby Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
LOVED IT! I cut the recipe by 1/3 (2 eggs, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup flour, 2 Tb butter) and baked in an ovenproof saute pan for 17 minutes at 400 degrees. It turned out PERFECTLY! Great presentation and flavor with very little effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I made this for the first time this morning. We're trying to "lighten up" our meals so I cut the butter to 1 tablespoon, used 2 whole eggs + one egg white, and added low-fat lactose-free milk. I also added just a pinch of salt and a splash (maybe 1/4 teaspoon) of vanilla. I heated the oven to 425 but reduced the heat to 400 after 5 minutes of baking. Baked for 20 minutes and it was picture perfect and delicious! I served ours with freshly stewed apples - YUM! Thanks - we'll definitely have this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I had never heard of these before, but found them on the recipe of the day a while back. These were so good! I've made them a few times and they are great every time. The boyfriend loves them as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wow! I have never had a German Pancake before. I can't believe I have been missing these all these years! This recipe is going in my favorites file!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This reminds me of a giant popover, it was easy to make. I warmed my eggs and milk a bit while my calphalon pan heated in the oven with the butter. I also added a splash of vanilla. I enjoyed it with a splash of lemon juice and powdered sugar. My daughter used maple syrup. We both loved it. A nice and easy, and very different breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Yummy! Followed the ingredients exactly. I didn't have a cast iron skillet so I melted the butter in the bottom of a cake pan. Still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChowHound
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This recipe was incredibly easy and the results were great! I followed the directions except I spaced it and put the cold milk in with the eggs. It still came out well! I sprinkled a little coarse sea salt over the top before topping with confectioner's sugar and lemon juice. Mmmmm. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChowHound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Yummy. Like the Original Pancake House...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Incredible. Did it in my cast iron skillet, let it cook a little too long, but it's okay, as the crunchy parts soaked up the sauce I made. I melted some butter, sauteed a sliced Pink Lady apple in the butter with a touch of cinnamon and a tablespoon or two of brown sugar. This recipe is fabulous and easy; it uses ingredients I always have around the kitchen so it's a super go-to for the day we don't make it to the grocery store or lack energy to make dinner an all-out production. Enthusiastically recommended by an 8 year old, for what that's worth! I simply don't understand why anyone would go out to order this at the markup that's usually charged when this is so simple and frugal to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Simply amazing! It doesn't get easier than this. I did almost everything "wrong" and still got perfect results. I don't have a cast iron skillet. I baked my in a large round ceramic baking dish. I didn't warm the ingredients first. I finished the batter before the oven was ready so it sat for several minutes. It still came out perfect. The presentation is beautiful. It looks like you have been slaving away. My mother absolutely loves the "dutch baby" from the Original Pancake House. This is a total knock off. It was awesome to be able to make this for her over the holidays. She said she liked mine even better than the restaurants. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamacita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Baby Back Ribs

See how to make tender, fall-off-the-bone, oven-baked baby back pork ribs.

Boiled and Baked Baby Back Ribs

See a sensational shortcut method for making baby-back ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States