German Apple Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I absolutely thought this was the most delicious dessert recipe I have ever made! I did use pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made the mistake of following the recipe as writteing and and not heeding the advie of others. I agree that it is much too sweet (too much sugar and raisins). I would cut the cake sugar in half at least and 1/4 the icing & raisin amount in and on the cake. It overshadows the apples and it's much too rich and sweet with not enough cake. However, many of my friends did like it as is and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iclaudius

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montebello, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Although the concept of this recipe is very good, I was disappointed with the quality. I did take the advice of previous reviewers and cut the amount of sugar by half in the sauce part ( I used only brown sugar and omitted the white sugar for a more caramel- like flavor) However, 1 egg to 1 cup of flour for the batter portion did not work, there is not enough liquid in the batter portion to absorb the flour, I added another egg, but found that it was still very dry and tough when baked. I was surprised not to see this mentioned by other viewers. This recipe requires some "tweaking" before it can be a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrennaP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This had a nice flavour but was too sweet for my liking. It definately needed vanilla icecream and less sugars. To me it tasted like a very sweet muffin. Would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I doubled the cake recipe for a 9 x 13 and 1/2 times the recipe for the "icing". Very good, Yummy with vanilla ice cream! I made it for a party and it was a hit. A heavy dessert eat a light dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I've made lots of cakes from Allrecipes.com and this one is amazingly great! I didn't know what to expect based on the picture but mine was beautiful. The caramel-like topping was a little more than I needed- I had leftovers. I used walnut halves sprinkled over the cake and poured the sauce over them. I used apple pie mixed spices instead of just cinnamon. I left out the raisins since I'm not a big fan, but it was just wonderful tasting and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Loved this. Easy to make. Totally sinfully delicious. I did decrease the sugar just a tad. It was the bomb!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I followed the suggestions of several reviewers and I reduced the sugar to 3/4 and the cinnamon to 1 t in the cake. I also halved the topping. Next time I would also leave out the raisins in both the cake and the topping. The cake is already very sweet and I don't think it needs the additional sweetness of the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I was very disappointed in this recepie. Maybe my concept of Apple Cake is different then the person who submitted the this but with only 1 cup of flour and 1 egg I felt that it was not enough for a cake. I followed it exactly as written but the "cake" was very dry mostly apples, nuts and raisins and the topping never did thicken. Will not try this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Everyone at church loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States