German Apple Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2005
A great weekend breakfast/brunch recipe. I do not have an ovenproof skillet, so what I did was saute the sliced apples, sugar, butter, cinnamon and nutmeg, then poured the mixture into a prepared 10" glass pie pan. I then poured the pancake mixture on top. Baked as noted in the recipe. The result delicious--and vanished quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
363 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This was delicious. I did cut the butter and sugar in half, as I often do in recipes, and it turned out great. I also doubled the apples, which seems like too many when you put them in the pan but they bake down quite a bit. For all of you complaining that it is too eggy...you would think the fact that it has 4 eggs and only a half cup of flour would tip you off? Yes, it is eggy and that is why many of us love it. Don't give a poor rating because something that is SUPPOSED to be eggy IS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gooddealmeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I've made this twice, and both times resulted in superb breakfasts! I doubled the apples, and halved the butter in the pan (not the batter) which improved the health factor and actually tasted better too. Wow. We used to go to a restaurant to get this particular dish, but now my family exclaims that this recipe is even better! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Made for a very interesting flavour that I've never tried before! We didn't have the right size of skillet, so transferred everything to a pie dish for the baking. It rose so much that it spat some apples and butter into the oven! Oops, use a higher rim next time. I recommend using 2 apples instead of 1! We used 2 apples, and it still didn't seem like enough! Everything else worked out perfect. It had just the right sweetness, and the texture and flavour was fun and interesting. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
I am a kid so it does very well on Kid Friendly. I did this for Mothers Day because my Mom lived in Indionapolis Indiana where they have the original pancake house with apple pancakes, and she thought that she couldn't get them anywhere else. Ta-daa! Thanks allrecipies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This is a fabulous oven pancake suitable for guest presentation! I am going to make it for Christmas morning. My family loved it! Please note: This is not a cakey recipe like a stove top pancake. The batter has a thicker crepe-like consistency. If you have ever had Dutch Pannekoken you will probably like this. Be sure to add all the sugar (it won't need any syrup, just whipped crea and a dust of cinnamon), increase the cinnamon in the recipe as suggested by others. I used tart apples from our own tree (about 3 cups sliced) and cooked them in the sugar mix for about 2 mins on the stovetop. I only let the batter sit about 10 mins and everything rose beautifully. If your pancake does not perform as expected, check the expiration date of the baking powder - if you don't bake a lot and use it up consistently it can expire and not work as expected. Also be sure to use baking powder not baking soda! (LOL) I suspect that these might be the reason some did not get their pancake to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
YUM!! I've tried this with fresh apples, and with apple pie filling, tastes much better with fresh. Definitely worth the little extra time it takes to make it with fresh apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
this was so goooood! i also didnt have a oven proof skillet and used a 10" pie plate, it came out awesome:) definitly will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Maurer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plympton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
We just tried this today and we were all very pleased with the result. However, we made a double recipe and used six eggs rather than eight. We also cut out the nut-meg and reduced the sugar. This is VERY GOOD and we will be making it again. (Soon, I hope!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Made this tonight for a breakfast/supper, & it came out super! All 4 kids and husband loved it. I did it in 2 saute pans, and doubled the recipe, it worked perfectly. I omitted the nutmeg by accident and it was still fantastic. If anybody from the NorthEast remembers going to Bickford's for the "Big Apple" this recipe is a ringer.. The only thing that would have made it more authentic would be to have it served up at 2AM by a surly waitress that reaked of cigarette smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States