German Apple Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
This recipe is exceptional and I would not change a thing. Do let the cooked pancake cool in the pan before removing to plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Very good. Be careful NOT to boil the sugar/butter mixture--or to JUST barely let it boil. Otherwise it will harden to the candy stage and when it comes out of the oven, the carmel will be brittle vs. a sauce that flows like a syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was perfect, I even increased the recipe by 1.5 to compensate for larger skillet. Very similar to kaiserschmarn only in Germany they add fruit on top after cooking the pancake! German boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
We had this at the Original House of Pancakes and have tried to make it at home with mixed results using our Dutch Baby recipe and adding the apple/sugar mixture in. This answered a big question why ours was good but not perfect. This is perfect. Really didn't change anything, it is a fantastic recipe and a delicious dish. Highly recommend this one. We do Turn the pan over onto a serving place so the presentation is amazing with all the stickygoowy sugar and beautifly backed apples on top. Similar to the picture. Ours in the pan is all pancake on top and you don't see the apples until turned over. Ours rose very nicely. If it doesn't rise for you either don't mix it so much if you can't allow the batter to stand for an hour or 2. I prefer to mix the night before so all I need to do is work on the apples in the morning. I let the batter come to room temp while working on the apples. Two apples are better than one. I have a 12 inch cast iron skillet so I double the batter as well to serve more. A lot of work to make a second batch with the cleaning of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA
Living In: Pahrump, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
We really liked this. I made it as directed. It IS very eggy, but it's supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Mollie I love your recipe! I made it first following you directions exactly which we all loved, but the next time I made it I used my large muffin tin instead and made 6 small pancakes - also very good. I did adjust the baking time to 8 min at 425 and about 8 -10 min at 375 and I did use a little more apples. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Loved this, although next time I will add more apples like everyone suggested. My daughter and I devoured it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SeaWench
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This recipe is straight out of the Bon Appetit 'Breakfasts and Brunches' cookbook...word for word. Anyway, I used all 4 eggs but think I'd cut back to 3, maybe even 2 next time. I also doubled the apples like many other people here. It was enjoyable enough, but I'm not sure I'd bother making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I've made this twice now, once with apples and the next with pears and craisins - both time delish. Yes it is "eggy" and you can cut back on both sugar and butter, but it is truly a baked crepe and yummy! I used a cast iron skillet with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
soo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Turnovers

Anyone can make these delicious homemade apple pastries.

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States